Jump to main content



#EnergiaAILTry – February Winners

#EnergiaAILTry – February Winners

The winners of the 2021/22 Energia AIL Awards have been announced.

There are two new winning clubs to add to the Energia All-Ireland League Try Of The Month list for the 2020/2021 season.

Nenagh Ormond get the nod for the first time ever after their efforts in an all-Tipperary clash in Division 2A of the Energia All-Ireland League. Fionn McGibney’s outrageous cross-field kick against Cashel was collected and finished by Conor O’Brien.

Conditions were inclement in many of February’s games, but that didn’t stop teams like Old Belvedere from putting on a show. Nichola Fryday’s try against Suttonians was a brilliant example of how to keep the ball alive with pace in difficult conditions.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

February 2020: Energia Women’s All-Ireland League Try Of The Month – Nichola Fryday

February 2020: Energia All-Ireland League Try Of The Month – Conor O’Brien

€250 goes to both with thanks to Energia – the official energy partner to Irish Rugby. The winning tries are then eligible to win the Try of The Season award.

You can view the February shortlist for both competitions here.

#EnergiaAILTry Of The Month 2019/20 Winners:

February – Men’s: Conor O’Brien (Nenagh Ormond)

February – Women’s Nichola Fryday (Old Belvedere)

January – Men’s: Peter Cashel (Dungannon)

January/December – Women’s: Alana McInerney (UL Bohemian)

December – Men’s: Jack Crowley (Cork Constitution)

November – Men’s: Kelvin Brown (Shannon)

November – Women’s: Stephanie Nunan (UL Bohemian)

October – Men’s: Scott Finlay (Malone)

October – Women’s: Jenni Burke (Blackrock College)

The winner of each competition is selected by a management member from Ireland’s senior Men’s and Women’s squads.

Due to the suspension of domestic rugby activity, there will be no #EnergiaAILTry award for March.

Click here for a list of regulations on how a try can be eligible for Try Of The Month.