Jump to main content


IRFU Committee

IRFU Committee

The Irish Rugby Football Union is the governing body for the sport of Rugby Union on the island of Ireland. Each affiliated rugby club or school nominates a member to their provincial branch committee and each branch elects members to the IRFU Committee.


Ian McIlrath

Vice Presidents

Nicholas Comyn Des Kavanagh

Honorary Treasurer

Tom Grace

Chairman of Management Committee

Declan Madden

Immediate Past President

Philip Orr

Committee Profiles

Click here for profiles of the IRFU Committee

Standing Committees 2018/19

The President and Chairman of the Management Committee are automatically on every committee.


D. Madden, T. Grace(Treasurer), Ian McIlrath(President) J. O’ Driscoll (WR), T. OBeirne (NPGB), D. Devaney(C&M). G. Barrett (D. Rugby) P.R. Browne (CEO), D. Kavanagh (Co-opted), in attendance, N. Comyn, K. Potts, D. Nucifora and S. McNamara.


T. Grace, A. Leddy, J. Gibson, M.P. Coghlan, J. Robinson, D. Madden,

P.R. Browne, K. Potts, C. O’Brien, F. O’Rourke (co-opted) and L. Quinn (co-opted).

Commercial and Marketing

D. Devaney, T. Grace, M. Collopy, P.R. Browne, T. OBeirne, P. Power, S. McNamara and P. Dean (Co-opted).

National Professional Game Board

T. OBeirne, G. Barrett, R. Ryan, K. Keane, Barry Gavin, F. Sowman, D. Millar,

E. Reddan (Co. Opted) G. Keegan (Co-opted) M. Kearney (Co-opted) P.R. Browne and D. Nucifora.

Rugby Committee

G. Barrett, N. Comyn, J. McKibben, J. Robinson, M. Quinn, D. Kavanagh, M. Collopy, S. Walker and K. Beggs.

At Four meetings per season, the Chairs of the Provincial Rugby Committees and the Exiles Representative will attend to monitor and report on the Strategic Plan.



Mary Quinn. Jim Gibson, A. Leddy and Co-options from the relevant provincial committees.

IRFU Women’s Advisory Group

Nicholas Comyn, Mary Quinn, Su Carty, Greg Barrett and P.R. Browne

Age Grade Rugby

John Robinson. The Chairs of the IRFU Schools and Youths and the Chairs of Provincial Age Grade Committees. Scott Walker and Eoin Hogan.

Schools Committee

Gerry Drennan, Niall Rynne, Eoin Hogan and Chairs of the Provincial School’s Committee

Youths Committee

Adrian Leddy, John Sheerin, Eoin Hogan and Chairs of the Provincial Youth Committees.

Rugby Operations Committees

M. Collopy.


Ray Ryan, Kevin Dinneen D.O’ Brien C.O’ Brien and

Co-options from the pool of provincial nominees.


John McKibben, Su Carty, and Co-options from the pool of provincial nominees.


Jim Gibson, Adrian Leddy and Co-options from the pool of provincial nominees.


Niall Rynne, John Sheerin and Co-options from the pool of provincial nominees.


John McKibben, Kevin Dinneen, D. Phillips, Helen O’Reilly and a representative from each Province.

Laws and Regulations of the Game

Greg Barrett, M. P. Coghlan, Kevin Dinneen, John McKibben N. Comyn, Scott Walker, Dudley Phillips, D. McPhillips and Kevin Beggs,

Competitions – AIL and National Competition

N. Comyn, John McKibben, N. Rynne, Kevin Beggs, Lorna Byrne (women AIL), Olan Allen (fixtures) Co -opted and a nominee from each Province.

Third Level Committee

N. Comyn, Kevin Dinneen, Su Carty, Eoin Hogan, David Carrigy, four representatives from I.U.R.U., four from I.C.R.U. and a nominee from the relevant committee of each Branch.

IRFU Junior Working Party

John Sheerin, Adrian Leddy, and the Chairs of the Provincial Junior Committees.


World Rugby
J.O’Driscoll, S. Carty and P.Orr

Six Nations
P.R. Browne and P. Whelan

British & Irish Lions
T. Grace and P.R.Browne

EPRC Representatives
P.R. Browne and P.McNaughton

Rugby Europe (formerly FIRA) Representatives
J. O’Driscoll and D. Nucifora

Celtic Rugby
K. Potts and G. Fitzgerald

T. Hennessy