Jump to main content


Ireland U-18 Schools Team Announced For Wales Game

Ireland U-18 Schools Team Announced For Wales Game

The Ireland Under-18 Schools team line up for the anthems ahead of their festival opener against France in Marcoussis ©INPHO/Loic Baratoux

Ireland Under-18 Schools head coach Paul Barr has rotated his squad for their second U-18 Men’s Six Nations Festival fixture in Marcoussis where they take on Wales today (kick-off 2.20pm local time/1.20pm Irish time).

Emmett Calvey and Jacob Boyd come into the front row, Inigo Cruise O’Brien and Jacob Sheahan, a try scorer against France, start in the back row and the half-backs are rotated with Oliver Coffey and Sean Naughton starting.

The side will again be captained by St. Michael’s College centre Sam Berman, who has Luke Kritzinger alongside him in midfield. A new back-three is introduced with Ruben Moloney at full-back, Cork youngster Ben O’Connor switches to the right wing, and Gonzaga College’s Hugo McLaughlin is introduced on the other flank.

Six Nations will stream each game from the Under-18 Men’s Festival on their YouTube channel. This feed is available to watch below.

For a squad update and preview with Paul Barr, click here.


Day 1 –

Italy 17 Scotland 31
Wales 14 England 33
France 28 Ireland 23

Day 2 –

France v Scotland
Ireland v Wales, kick-off 2.20pm local time/1.20pm Irish time
Italy v England

Day 3 –

Italy v Ireland, kick-off 11.30am local time/10.30am Irish time
England v Scotland
France v Wales

IRELAND UNDER-18 SCHOOLS Team & Replacements (v Wales Under-18s, Under-18 Men’s Six Nations Festival – Round 2, Marcoussis, France, Wednesday, April 13, kick-off 2.20pm local time/1.20pm Irish time):

15. Ruben Moloney (Blackrock College/Leinster)
14. Ben O’Connor (Presentation Brothers College Cork/Munster)
13. Sam Berman (St. Michael’s College/Leinster) (capt)
12. Luke Kritzinger (Blackrock College/Leinster)
11. Hugo McLaughlin (Gonzaga College/Leinster)
10. Sean Naughton (Kilkenny College/Leinster)
9. Oliver Coffey (Blackrock College/Leinster)
1. Emmett Calvey (Ardscoil Ris/Munster)
2. Danny Sheahan (Presentation Brothers College Cork/Munster)
3. Jacob Boyd (Royal Belfast Academical Institute/Ulster)
4. Evan O’Connell (Castletroy College/Munster)
5. Joe Hopes (Campbell College/Ulster)
6. Stephen Smyth (Kilkenny College/Leinster)
7. Inigo Cruise O’Brien (Blackrock College/Leinster)
8. Jacob Sheahan (Presentation Brothers College Cork/Munster)


16. Zac Solomon (Campbell College/Ulster)
17. Tom Stewart (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
18. Andrew Sparrow (St. Mary’s College Leinster)
19. Josh Stevens (Methodist College/Ulster)
20. Brian Gleeson (Rockwell College/Munster)
21. Jake O’Riordan (St. Munchin’s College/Munster)
22. Jack Murphy (Presentation College Bray/Leinster)
23. Harry Long (Ardscoil Ris/Munster)
24. Tom Brigg (Blackrock College/Leinster)
25. Finn Treacy (Presentation College Bray/Leinster)
26. Stephen Kiely (Castletroy College/Munster)


France Under-18s 28 Ireland Under-18 Schools 23, Saturday, April 9
Ireland Under-18 Schools v Wales Under-18s, Wednesday, April 13, kick-off 1.20pm Irish time
Ireland Under-18 Schools v Italy Under-18s, Sunday, April 17, kick-off 10.30am Irish time