Jump to main content


Ireland Women’s Squad Update

Ciara Griffin leads her team out into Energia Park 2/2/2020

Ireland Women's captain Ciara Griffin leads the team out for their Six Nations opener against Scotland at Energia Park ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

Ireland Women’s head coach Adam Griggs has announced an extended squad of 27 players ahead of Sunday’s second round clash with Wales in the Women’s Six Nations.

Ulster hooker Neve Jones has been called into the squad as Cliodhna Moloney, the scorer of Ireland’s opening try in the 18-14 win over Scotland, is proceeding through the HIA process and will follow the graduated return-to-play protocols.

Out-half Ellen Murphy sustained a calf injury during the Scotland game and will be monitored across the week. Versatile back Larissa Muldoon has been added to the squad.

Meanwhile, Eimear Considine is continuing to be monitored and will have a fitness test during Thursday and Friday’s training. Fellow back-three player Hannah Tyrrell will join the wider squad on her return from the World Seven Series leg in Sydney.

The Ireland Women, who sit second in the Six Nations table, play their Welsh counterparts this Sunday at Energia Park (kick-off 1pm). The team to play Wales will be revealed on Friday morning.

IRELAND WOMEN’S Squad (2020 Women’s Six Nations Round 2 v Wales):

Player/Club/Province/Caps –

Backs (13):

Michelle Claffey (Blackrock/Leinster)
Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster)
Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo Ladies/IQ Rugby)
Aoife Doyle (Railway Union/Munster)
Claire Keohane (Railway Union/Munster)
Larissa Muldoon (Railway Union/Leinster)
Ellen Murphy (Gloucester-Hartpury/IQ Rugby)
Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Connacht)
Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Forwards (14):

Anna Caplice (Harlequins/IQ Rugby)
Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/Leinster)
Victoria Dabanovich-O’Mahony (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Laura Feely (Blackrock/Connacht)
Nichola Fryday (Old Belvedere/Connacht)
Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
Neve Jones (Malone/Ulster) *
Leah Lyons (Harlequins/IQ Rugby)
Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)
Edel McMahon (Wasps/IQ Rugby)
Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/IQ Rugby)
Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)
Dorothy Wall (Railway Union/Munster)

* Denotes uncapped player at this level