Jump to main content



Kidney To Select From 30-Man Squad

Kidney To Select From 30-Man Squad

The Ireland management expect Brian O’Driscoll to be fit for Saturday’s GUINNESS Series opener against South Africa. A 30-man squad has gathered in Dublin ahead of Tuesday’s team announcement.

Ireland team manager Paul McNaughton confirmed that the management will be working with a 30-man squad this week, as they prepare for the historic Aviva Stadium clash with the Springboks.

Of the panel originally selected for the GUINNESS Series, the players to miss out are Munster hooker Damien Varley and Leinster’s Mike Ross, Isaac Boss and Shane Horgan, who all lined out for their provinces over the weekend.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Brett Wilkinson, who came in as cover for the injured Marcus Horan, is not included, but the fit-again Luke Fitzgerald is in contention to feature against South Africa.

The uncapped Johne Murphy and Devin Toner are also pushing for selection, while long-serving captain Brian O’Driscoll is making encouraging progress in his recovery from a hamstring injury.

Speaking at a press conference in Dublin this morning, McNaughton said: “Everyone is primarily fully fit to go. Brian (O’Driscoll) will have a modified (training) run today, but we’re optimistic about him.

“We expect him to be fit and available to be considered for selection. We hope he’ll get to full participation (at training) tomorrow. Everybody else in the squad will train fully today.”

IRELAND Squad (2010 GUINNESS Series v South Africa):

Forwards (16) –

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster)
Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)
Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)
John Hayes (Bruff/Munster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)
Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster)
John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht)
Sean O’Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)
Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) *
David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster)

Backs (14) –

Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Gavin Duffy (Galwegians/Connacht)
Keith Earls (Thomond/Munster)
Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
Johne Murphy (Young Munster/Munster) *
Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster)
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)

* Denotes uncapped player

Click here to get Ireland at 10/1 to win the four GUINNESS Series matches and a free €;20 bet, courtesy of Paddy Power Bookmakers