Jump to main content


Ireland Club Team Named For Scottish Encounter

Ireland Club Team Named For Scottish Encounter

The Ireland Club team to play the Scotland Club side in the AIB Club International shows several changes from the team that lost narrowly to England Counties last month. The game kicks off at 7pm at Donnybrook this Friday.

AIB Club International coach David O’Mahony has brought in a number of new caps to represent their club and country in the AIB Club International.

UCC’s John Ryan takes Martin Gately’s place in the front row, alongside Mike Essex and Simon Shawe who both impressed against England Counties.

In the back row, injuries to Barry O’Mahony and Richie Leyden mean that Hugh Hogan of St. Mary’s College and Zack Farivarz from Blackrock College come into the starting line-up.

Matt Healy of Lansdowne starts on the right wing in place of John Cleary, with Clontarf’s Killian Lett coming in for Cork Constitution’s AIB Cup-winning captain Evan Ryan in midfield.
Young Munster skipper Ger Slattery and Robin Copeland of St. Mary’s College, who is the top try scorer in AIB League Division 1A this season, have been added to the replacements bench for the game.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Dolphin scrum half Sam Cronin will captain the side and is joined once again at half-back by his club-mate Barry Keeshan.

A big crowd is expected at Donnybrook to cheer on the best club players in the country. The Ireland v Scotland Club XV duels have proved to be entertaining encounters in recent seasons so do not miss your chance to support the team!

AIB CLUB INTERNATIONAL Team & Replacements (v Scotland Club XV, Donnybrook, Friday, March 19, kick-off 7pm):

15 – Daragh O’Shea (Clontarf RFC)
14 – Matt Healy (Lansdowne FC)
13 – Eric Moloney (Dolphin RFC)
12 – Killian Lett (Clontarf RFC)
11 – Stephen Kelly (Shannon RFC)
10 – Barry Keeshan (Dolphin RFC)
9 – Sam Cronin (Dolphin RFC) (capt)
1 – John Ryan (UCC RFC)
2 – Mike Essex (Shannon RFC)
3 – Simon Shawe (Ballymena RFC)
4 – Paul Huntly (Blackrock College RFC)
5 – Fergal Walsh (Shannon RFC)
6 – Hugh Hogan (St. Mary’s College RFC)
7 – Zack Farivarz (Blackrock College RFC)
8 – Frank Cogan (Cork Constitution FC)


16 – Ger Slattery (Young Munster RFC)
17 – Christy Condon (Dolphin RFC)
18 – Simon Crawford (Clontarf RFC)
19 – Robin Copeland (St. Mary’s College RFC)
20 – Cathal Sheridan (UL Bohemians RFC)
21 – Darragh Fitzpatrick (Blackrock College RFC)
22 – Sean Scanlon (UCC RFC)