Jump to main content



AIB Cup: Belfast Harlequins v Garryowen

AIB Cup: Belfast Harlequins v Garryowen

Contrasting league fortunes for the sides in the AIB Cup final tomorrow but both are coming to the day on the back of a run of wins.

AIB Cup Final

Saturday, April 14

Dubarry Park, 4pm

Referee: Alain Rolland

Belfast Harlequins Crest  Garryowen Crest

One side still chasing a play-off spot at the top of the table, the other looking to escape relegation at the bottom but both sides on a winning run.

‘Quins’ turnaround in fortunes in Division One has seen them put together a string of wins that may keep them in top flight next season while Garryowen, level on points with fourth-placed Shannon in the table, are also chasing a cup treble having already garnered the Munster Senior and Junior Cups.

The AIB Cup final will be refereed by Alain Rolland who was recently appointed to take charge of one of the forthcoming Heineken Cup semi-finals as well.

Club Focus – Garryowen

Club Focus – Belfast Harlequins

Belfast Harlequins

Mark Kettyle; Jonny Lowe, Paul McKenzie, Keith Pyper, Gavin McLoughlin; Niall O’Connor, Paul Marshall; Niall Conlon, Stuart Philpott, John Andress, Gareth Rourke, Lewis Stevenson, Andy Ward, Colin Atkinson (capt), Andrew Gillespie.

Replacements: Andrew Sproule, Ben Hanvey, Graham Jewhurst, David Johnson, Roger Kirkwood, Rory Blake-Knox, Simon Raye.


Forwards: Rory Brosnan, Damien Varley, Pat Humphries, John Staunton, Eugene McGovern, Declan Lavery, Mark Melbourne, Ed Mackey, Donal Sheehan, Paul Neville (capt), Peter Malone, Dave Sherry, Anthony Kavanagh, John O’Sullivan, Frank McKenna.

Backs: Conor Kilroy, Willie Staunton, Eoghan Hickey, Alan Kingsley, Gerry Hurley, Fredrico Quaglia, Conan Doyle, Kevin Hartigan, Ciaran O’Boyle, Adam O’Loughlin, Cillian O’Boyle.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article