Jump to main content


Seven In A Row For Shannon

Seven In A Row For Shannon

Shannon came from behind to pip Dolphin 20-16 in Sunday’s ODM Munster Senior Cup final, lifting thei trophy for a seventh consecutive year.

…Shannon fly half Dave Delaney, who kicked 10 points against Dolphin…

Shannon came from behind to pip Dolphin 20-16 in Sunday’s ODM Munster Senior Cup final, lifting the trophy for a seventh consecutive year.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article


SHANNON 20 DOLPHIN 16, Musgrave Park

Scorers: Shannon: Tries: Ian Dowling, Colm McMahon; Cons: Dave Delaney 2; Pens: Delaney 2

Dolphin: Try: Aidan O’Shea; Con: Barry Keeshan; Pens: Keeshan 3

Six Munster-contracted players were on show from the kick-off – Shannon had Mossie Lawlor, Ian Dowling, Stephen Keogh, Tony Buckley and Trevor Hogan in their side, while Dolphin boasted Tomas O’Leary at scrum half.

Dolphin got the ideal start with a sixth-minute intercept try from centre Aidan O’Shea, converted by Barry Keeshan. Shannon’s Dave Delaney (9 minutes) and Keeshan (14) then swapped penalties.

Keeshan added a 50th-minute drop goal, but Shannon bossed the final quarter. Andrew Thompson, on as a replacement and only just back from injury, offloaded for winger Dowling, who beat five Dolphin defenders, to race over for a sizzling 65th-minute try. Delaney converted to level it up at 13-all.

Five minutes later, Shannon captain Colm McMahon bulldozed through and in under the posts for his side’s second converted try. Keeshan added a penalty, but Mick Galwey’s side held on for the club’s 18th Munster title.

DOLPHIN: Darragh O’Mahony; Shane O’Halloran, Aidan O’Shea, Colin Healy, Ed Mills; Barry Keeshan, Tomas O’Leary; Fergus Gately, Kieran Murray, John O’Sullivan, Rory McGrath, Dave Harty, George Finn, Donnchadha Murphy, James Coughlan (capt).

Replacements used: Garry O’Keeffe for O’Halloran (50 mins), Richie McKinney for O’Sullivan (64), Kevin Coughlan for Harty (70).

SHANNON: Mossie Lawlor; Pat O’Connor, Brian Tuohy, Ian Dowling, David O’Donovan; David Delaney, Frankie McNamara; Les Hogan. Paul Ryan, Tony Buckley, Eddie Halvey, Trevor Hogan, Colm McMahon (capt), John O’Connor, Stephen Keogh.

Replacements used: Padraic O’Brien for Hogan (30 mins), Donncha Ryan for Halvey (60), Andrew Thompson for O’Connor (64).

Referee: Olan Trevor (Munster)