Jump to main content

Menu

Give It A Try 2022

Give It A Try 2022

Give It A Try 2022

What is Canterbury Give It A Try (GIAT)?

The Canterbury Give It A Try camps are an 8-week programme run in selected clubs where girls aged 8-14 years can attend in order to learn how to play rugby in a fun environment.

The programme consists of a coach education element, fun rugby sessions, teaching the girls the basics of rugby. The clubs are responsible for the running of the programme in their area but with Provincial Branch and IRFU assistance.

This year there are 93 Give It A Try Clubs all over Ireland starting their camps between May 2nd and May 9th.

For fun, friendship and a life’s worth of lessons, there’s #NothingLikeIt

 

Club Start date Time Contact  Mobile email address
Ballinasloe Sunday 8th May 10.00 – 11.00 Stephen Goode 085 2662142 Steviegoode@yahoo.com 
Ballinrobe Thursday 5th May 18.00 – 19.00 Jill O’Malley 087 6446065 jillomalley@gmail.com
Castlebar Saturday 7th May 16.00 – 17.00 Mairead Bradley 087 9282561 maireadbradley@gmail.com
Claremorris Colts Sunday 8th May 12.00 – 13.00 Pearse Hahessy 087 942 7598 pearsehahessy@gmail.com
Corinthians Monday 2nd May 19.00 – 20.00 David Lyons 087 7791925 nerophis@yahoo.com
Corrib Monday 9th May 19.00 – 20.00 Oonagh Ni Neachtain 087 2619683 oonagh23@gmail.com
Dunmore Saturday 7th May 10.30 – 11.30 Ruth Silke 086 1659046 ruth_silke@yahoo.com
Galwegians Saturday 7th May 10.00 – 11.00 Diane Wright 086 8434606 wrightsister1@gmail.com
Loughrea Tuesday 3rd May 18.30 – 19.30 Eoghan Young 087 2415739 secretary@loughrearfc.ie 
Monivea* Tuesday 3rd May 19.00 – 20.00 Shelly Herterich Quinn 087 287 1355 moniveagirls@gmail.com 
Oughterard Thursday 5th May 19.00 – 20.00 Niall Walsh 085 8887457 Oughterardrugbyfootballclub@gmail.com 
Portumna* Sunday 8th May 11.00 – 12.00 Adrian Loughnane 087 6299054 adlough@hotmail.com
Sligo Saturday 7th May 10.00 – 11.00 Dominic Galwey 086 2269284 dominic_galwey@yahoo.co.uk
Tuam Tuesday 3rd May 18.00 – 19.00 Eugene Sharkey 087 6528966 eugenesharkey@hotmail.com
Westport Thursday 5th May 18.30 -19.30 Donna Gavin 087 104 3114 mrsdmgavin@gmail.com
Club Start Date Time Contact name Mobile Email
Ardee Tuesday 2nd May 19.00 – 20.00 Ian Stewart 087 2530979 ArdeeCCRO@leinsterrugby.ie
Ashbourne Friday 6th May 19.00 – 20.00 Graham Brennan 083 3291352 graham.brennan180@gmail.com
Balbriggan Thursday 5th May 19.00 – 20.00 Emma O’Kennedy 086 3600303 emmaokennedy@gmail.com
Birr Tuesday 3rd May 18.30 – 19.30 Darren Bayliss 083 0506186 youths.birrrugbyfootballclub@gmail.com
Blackrock College Tuesday 3rd May 18.00 – 19.00 Killian O’Sullivan 087 7424455 killian@stradbucks.com
Carlingford Knights Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Niall Kerley 087 2373399 carlingfordccro@leinsterrugby.ie
Clane Tuesday 3rd May 19.00 – 20.00 Jim Kehoe 086 0232091 gilltown@live.ie
Clontarf Thursday 5th May 18.00 – 19.00 David Murray 087 6958666 davemurray34@gmail.com
Dundalk Saturday 7th May 11.00 – 12.00 Barbara Tooher 087 633 2224 barbaratooher@hotmail.com
Enniscorthy Wednesday 4th May 19.00 -20.15 John Murphy 087 9056663 spud1963@live.ie
Longford Monday 9th May 19.30 – 20.30 Lisa Brady 087 6119960 lisabrady@hotmail.com
Mullingar Tuesday 10th May 19.00 – 20.00 Anthony Doolan 086 1954213 giat.mrfc@gmail.com
Naas Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 David McKeown 085 220 4635 dsmckeown@hotmail.com
Navan Monday 9th May 19.00 -20.00 Nour Khairy 086 868 3329 nourkhairy03@gmail.com
New Ross Tuesday 3rd May 19.00 – 20.00 Caroline Byrne 087 7992491 info@signs2go.ie
Newbridge Monday 9th May 19.00 – 20.00 Paul Treacey 086 2624073 paultreacey@gmail.com
Old Belvedere Tuesday 3rd May 18.30 – 19.30 Niamh Lynch 087 6725017 belvoyouthgirls@gmail.com
Old Wesley Sunday 8th May 12.00 -13.00 Chris Steele 087 4604744 girlsrugby@oldwesley.ie
Portlaoise Wednesday 4th May 19.00 -20.00 Jenny Keegan 087 1491677 Jennifer.keegan15@hotmail.com
Rathdrum Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Henry Bradshaw 086 3353872 hwbradshaw@gmail.com
Roscrea Sunday 8th May 11.00 – 12.00 Ciara Maher 087 2024936 ciaramaher@yahoo.ie
Skerries Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Aislinn Duffy 085 8702122 dufferash@gmail.com
St Mary’s Wednesday 4th May 18.00 – 19.00 Joe Shine/Sarah Fallon 087 939 3519/087 124 5700 joe.shine@burrencap.com girlsrugby@smcrfc.com
Suttonians Thursday 5th May 18.30 – 19.30 Lynda Carroll 086 373 2833 lyndacarroll2006@gmail.com
Terenure Friday 6th May 18.00 – 19.00 Aoife O’Grady 085 8313 502 Aoifeogrady@me.com
Tullow Wednesday 4th May 19.30 – 20.30 Ciara Kinch 086 1536101 ciara_kinch@hotmail.com
Wanderers Wednesday 4th May 18.30 – 19.30 Gerard O’Reilly 087 7937918 WanderersCCRO@Leinsterrugby.ie
Wexford Wanderers Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Anna Marie Russell 087 9054102 annamarierussell@gmail.com
Wicklow Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Lynn Armstrong 087 6438414 lynnarmstrongwrfc@gmail.com
Club Start date Time Contact name Mobile Email
Ballina Killaloe Thursday 5th May 18.00 – 19.00 Robert Alcock 086 108 3932 robert.alcock@intercomms.net
Ballincollig Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Harry Walsh 087 9202929 hcfwalsh@gmail.com
Bruff Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Heidi Van Schayk 087 667 9783 womensrugby@bruffrfc.com
Carrick on Suir Monday 2nd May 18.00 – 19.00 Katherine Fleming 087 2164025 kathleen.fleming@icloud.com
Castleisland RFC* Saturday 7th May 11.00 – 12.00 Bill Horgan 087 6737147 billhorgan70@gmail.com
Dolphin Monday 9th May 18.30 – 19.30 Jane O’Leary 087 6733067 womensrugby@dolphinrfc.com
Douglas* Saturday 7th May 11.00 – 12.00 Tadgh Fanning 085 7721024 tadghfanning@gmail.com
Dungarvan Monday 2nd May 18.30 – 19.30 Rachel O’Connell 087 6259446 womensofficer@dungarvanrugby.ie
Ennis Tuesday 3rd May 19.00 – 20.00 Lorchan Hoyne 087 6492026 lorchanhoyne@gmail.com
Fethard Monday 2nd May 19.00 – 20.00 Polly Murphy 086 3394959 fethardrfc@gmail.com
Garryowen Thursday 5th May 19.00 – 20.00 Bart O’Brien 086 1042474 bob3golf@live.ie
Iveragh Monday 9th May 19.00 -20.00 Tanya O’Sullivan 087 9048084 tanyaosullivan6@gmail.com
Kanturk* Friday 6th May 19.00 – 20.00 Cherylee Herbst 083 8276131 c_delport@hotmail.com
Killarney Saturday 7th May 11.00 – 12.00 Fiona Landers 087 2304689 fionamangan1@hotmail.com
Kinsale Saturday 7th May 10.00 – 10.00 Paul O’Connor 087 2225871 pauljoconnor79@gmail.com 
Lisdoonvarna Tuesday 3rd May 17.30 – 18.30 Frankie Burke 085 1847198 frankieburke1@gmail.com
Listowel Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Gus Sweeney 087 2794759 gus.sweeney1@gmail.com
Mallow Saturday 7th May 11.00 – 12.00 Ian Vaughan 086 2510504 ianjavaughan@gmail.com
Midleton* Saturday 7th May 11.00 – 12.00 Peter Vanbalderen 0833408523 petervanbalderen@gmail.com
Muskerry* Thursday 5th May 19.00 – 20.00 Catherine Coburn 087 2041806 catherine.coburn@me.com 
Newport Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Ciara Fielding Browne 086 3065125 Secnewportrfc@gmail.com 
Old Christians Thursday 5th May 19.00 – 20.00 Liam O’Brien 085 1722532 lobrien@oldchristiansrfc.ie
Old Crescent Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Marie Carroll 087 2300870 mariehayescarroll@gmail.com
Richmond Thursday 5th May 18.00 – 19.00 Elaine O’Connor 087  1325109 elaine.oconnor1601@gmail.com
Scariff Friday 6th May 18.00 – 19.00 Christina McKenna 085 8099626  christinamadden8@icloud.com
Shannon Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Sinead Cunningham 086 6780000 sineadcierans@gmail.com
St Senans Tuesday 3rd May 18.30 – 19.30 Brian Punch 087 6372621 briandermot37@gmail.com
Sunday’s Well Saturday 7th May 09.30 – 10.30 Colin Lahive 087 7956091 colin.lahive@gmail.com
Tralee Friday 6th May 18.30 – 19.30 Daniel Giles 087 2733317 danieltgiles@icloud.com
UL Bohs Monday 9th May 18.30 – 19.30 Niamh Kavanagh 086 1448909 niamh.kavanagh@ul.ie
Waterpark Wednesday 4th May 18.30 – 19.30 Mark Keller 086 7930441 mkeller9708@gmail.com
Youghal Monday 9th May 18.30 – 19.30 Ciara O’Flaherty 086 3725759 ciara.oflaherty@hotmail.com
Young Munster Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Eddie Connolly 087 2197986 ed.e.connolly@gmail.com
Club Start date Time Contact name Mobile Email 
Ballymena Saturday 7th May 11.00 – 12.00 Áine Fraser 078 09761028 ainefraser72@hotmail.co.uk
Ballynahinch Wednesday 4th May 18.45 – 19.45 Erin Hodgen 0754 0706564 ehodgen@outlook.com
Banbridge Wednesday 4th May 18.30 – 19.30 Caroline Meehan 0784 1109759 Caroline.meenan@Hotmail.co.uk
Belfast Cooke Saturday 7th May 10.30 – 11.30 Sorcha Mac Laimhin 0754 1689870 sorcha_maclaimhin@hotmail.com
City of Derry Wednesday 4th May 18.15 – 19.15 Kelly Gormley 0774 6444036 kelly_horse@hotmail.com
Co Cavan* Monday 2nd May 18.30 – 19.30 Rory Gleeson 086 0804111 countycavanrfcgirlsrugby@gmail.com
Coleraine* Wednesday 4th May 19.00 -20.00 Martin Darragh 0789 4813766 martin18darragh@hotmail.com 
Larne Tuesday 3rd May 18.30 -19.30 Judith Taylor 07786 707803 judith834taylor@btinternet.com
Limavady Tuesday 3rd May 18.30 – 19.30 Chris Sloan 07769 880 213 drumcovitt.feeny@btinternet.com
Lurgan Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Gavin Warwick 0780 1641686 gavin.warwick3@gmail.com
Monaghan Wednesday 4th May 19.00 – 20.00 Karen Clerkin 087 7908650 kclerkin25@gmail.com
Newry Saturday 7th May 10.00 – 11.00 Maria Reilly 07871 763676 mariahankin@me.com
Omagh Academicals* Thursday 5th May 19.00 – 20.00 Darren McGuigan 0779 3679595 darrenmcguigan@hotmail.com
Virginia Monday 9th May 19.00 – 20.00 Conor Walker 086 8519345 conor.walker07@gmail.com