Jump to main content



Brewer To Captain Ireland Club XV Team Against Portugal ‘A’

Brewer To Captain Ireland Club XV Team Against Portugal ‘A’

The Ireland Club XV team to play Portugal ‘A’ at the Estádio Universitário de Lisboa on Friday night (kick-off 7.00pm) has been confirmed. The game will be live streamed by Portugal Rugby.

The Ireland Club international squad (sponsored by Energia) is made up of some of the most exciting players competing in the Energia All-Ireland League.

Three players included in the squad to face Portugal ‘A’ in Lisborn have been capped at this level before, with Young Munster duo Alan Kennedy and Conor Bartley, and Old Wesley prop Cronan Gleeson, all part of the side back in 2020.

Harrison Brewer, who led Terenure College to the Division 1A title last season, will captain the Ireland Club XV. He lines out in the second row alongside Clontarf’s Fionn Gilbert.

Tighthead Bartley is joined in the front row by Terenure’s Campbell Classon and Clontarf skipper Dylan Donnellan, who continues to be in prolific form as Division 1A’s top try scorer so far this season with 17 tries.

Cork Constitution regular Jack Kelleher links up with Terenure pair Luke Clohessy and Jordan Coghlan in the back row. Number 8 Coghlan is one of the players with professional experience, having played for Leinster, Munster, Nottingham, and Leicester Tigers.

Conor Kelly from table toppers Clontarf combines with UCD’s Michael Moloney at half-back. Goal-kicking scrum half Moloney is the top flight’s leading points scorer in 2023/24 with 165 points. Kelly has also passed the century mark, with his tally now standing at 115.

Ballynahinch ace George Pringle joins forces with Terenure’s Peter Sylvester in the centre, and Cathal Eddy, a Fraser McMullen Cup winner with Lansdowne Under-20s just last year, will have ‘Nure pair Craig Adams and Adam La Grue for company in the back-three.

There is plenty of experience and quality to call on from the replacements, including two club captains in the Cookies’ Kennedy and UCD’s Bobby Sheehan, younger brother of Leinster and Ireland star Dan.

Division 2B leaders Instonians, whose record-breaking run of 32 consecutive AIL wins was ended last weekend by Sligo, are represented by scrum half Rhys O’Donnell, who was the Division 2C Player of the Year when Inst gained promotion last year.

Commenting on the build-up to this historic game in Lisbon, Ireland Club XV head coach Sean Skehan said: “I’m excited to be working with this group of players. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the last few weeks of preparation and we want to grab this opportunity with both hands.

“The challenge has been managing training camps alongside players being involved with their clubs. A lot of these guys will be playing in a Club international for the first time, so it’s very exciting for them.”

IRELAND CLUB XV Team & Replacements (v Portugal ‘A’, Club International Match, Estádio Universitário de Lisboa, Lisbon, Friday, March 8, kick-off 7pm):

15. Adam La Grue (Terenure College)
14. Craig Adams (Terenure College)
13. George Pringle (Ballynahinch)
12. Peter Sylvester (Terenure College)
11. Cathal Eddy (Lansdowne)
10. Conor Kelly (Clontarf)
9. Michael Moloney (UCD)
1. Campbell Classon (Terenure College)
2. Dylan Donnellan (Clontarf)
3. Conor Bartley (Young Munster)
4. Harrison Brewer (Terenure College) (capt)
5. Fionn Gilbert (Clontarf)
6. Jack Kelleher (Cork Constitution)
7. Luke Clohessy (Terenure College)
8. Jordan Coghlan (Terenure College)


16. Bobby Sheehan (UCD)
17. David Begley (Young Munster)
18. Cronan Gleeson (Old Wesley)
19. Alan Kennedy (Young Munster)
20. Bradley Luney (Ballynahinch)
21. Rhys O’Donnell (Instonians)
22. Aran Egan (Terenure College)
23. Mark Best (Ballynahinch)

Coaching & Management Team:

Head Coach: Sean Skehan
Forwards Coach: Emmet MacMahon
Scrum Coach: John Staunton
Backs and Attack Coach: Adam Craig
Athletic Performance Coach: Mark Synnott
Performance Analyst: Michael Harding
Physiotherapist: Paddy Gilman
Baggage Master: Paddy ‘Rala’ O’Reilly
Team Manager: Mark Hamilton