Jump to main content


Wolfhounds Team Named Celtic Challenge Playoffs Round 1

Molly Boyne leads her team out into Kingspan Stadium 27/1/2024

Celtic Challenge, Kingspan Stadium, Belfast 27/1/2024 Wolfhounds vs Brython Thunder Wolfhounds' Molly Boyne leads her team out into Kingspan Stadium Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ben Brady

The Wolfhounds squad, for the opening round of the Celtic Challenge Playoffs this weekend, has been named. The Wolfhounds are the top seeds, with five wins from five as they head to the Hive Stadium to take on Edinburgh Rugby at 1pm on Saturday.

All Celtic Challenge fixtures are streamed live and free on RugbyPass TV.

Head coach Neill Alcorn has made four changes to the starting team, from their fifth round fixture against Gwalia Lightning.

In the pack Christy Haney comes in to the front row, while Grace Moore starts at 8. In the backline Ellen Boylan starts on to the wing and Leah Tarpey slots in at outside centre.

Speaking about the match Alcorn said,

“The competition is heating up now as we head into the play-off rounds. We need to keep building on our performances and back up the work we have put in so far. We are looking forward to getting on the road again this weekend, as we head to the Hive Stadium to once again take on a strong Edinburgh Rugby side in the Celtic Challenge.”

The game will be available to stream for free on RugbyPass TV.

WOLFHOUNDS Team (v Edinburgh Rugby, Celtic Challenge Play-offs, Hive Stadium, Saturday, February 17, kick-off 1:00pm):

15. Ava Ryder (Railway Union RFC/Connacht)
Katie Corrigan  (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
13. Leah Tarpey (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
12. Katie Heffernan (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
Ellen Boylan
(Blackrock College RFC/Munster)
10. Nikki Caughey (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
9.  Jade Gaffney (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

1. Aoife Moore
(Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
2. Meabh Clenaghan (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
3. Christy Haney (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
4. Eimear Corri (Blackrock Rugby/Leinster)
5. Hannah O’Connor (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
6. Claire Boles (Railway Union/Ulster)
7. Molly Boyne (Railway Union RFC/Leinster) (Captain)
8. Grace Moore (Saracens)
16. India Daley (Blackrock College RFC/Ulster)
17. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

18. Sophie Barrett (Enniskillen RFC/Railway Union RFC/Ulster)
19. Fiona Tuite (Old Belvedere RFC/Ulster)
Keelin Brady (Railway Union RFC/Ulster)
21. Katie Whelan (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)
22. Abby Moyles (Blackrock RFC/Ulster)
Kelly McCormill (Cooke RFC/Ulster)

Celtic Challenge Play-Off Rounds