Jump to main content


Leinster Junior Men Finish Unbeaten To Claim Interpro Series

Leinster Junior Men Finish Unbeaten To Claim Interpro Series

IRFU Junior Men's Interprovincial Series Round 3, Waterford City RFC, Waterford 13/5/2023 Munster vs Leinster Leinster celebrate winning Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Evan Treacy

Leinster are IRFU Junior Men’s Interprovincial Champions after a 45-21 win at Munster ensured they finished their campaign unbeaten with three wins from three. Ulster were in the hunt for the championship themselves on the last day of action and finish second after an impressive win in Connemara.

“This is my fifth interprovincial series and the standard this year is as high as it’s been in years – it was brilliant,” said Leinster Head Coach Enda Finn.

“For myself and Robert McDermott, the planning starts in January. We’d have a longlist of 60+ players and then whittle it down to the squad of 36 so we’ve been together 8 weeks.

“We played two warm-up games against Irish Police and Irish Defence Forces and then we were into the interpro series. There’s a transfer of ownership from the coaches into January to the players today and they delivered in buckets today.”

Leinster Captain Craig Millar was elated at the final whistle.

“It was a short turnaround coming into camp after our league season with out clubs and we got straight into it,” he told Irish Rugby.ie

“We just played and threw the ball around and just really enjoyed it.”

“We knew they [Munster] were going to come out fighting hard as they always do when they see a sea of blue jerseys in front of them.

“They did that in the first half. We gave the hill thinking they’d tire and they did a bit and we just caught fire in the second half.”

Saturday May 13th:

IRFU Junior Men’s Interprovincial Series 2023

MUNSTER 21 LEINSTER 45, Waterford City RFC

Scorers: Munster: Tries: Conor Kavanagh, Adam Sheehan, Dave Shannon; Cons: Josef O’Connor 2
Leinster: Tries: Ciaran Fennessy 2, Robbie Vallejo 2, Graham Reynolds, Ruadhán McDonnell, Mikey Russell, Jake McDonald; Con: Craig Millar; Pen: Craig Millar

HT: Munster 7 Leinster 13

MUNSTER JUNIOR MEN: Ronan O’Brien (Kanturk RFC), Jesse Smith (Charleville & District RFC), Willie Walsh (Waterpark RFC), Craig O’Connell (Old Christians RFC), Eoin O’Sullivan (Kanturk RFC), Josef O’Connor (Fethard & District RFC), Conor Kavanagh (Fethard & District RFC); Noel Roche (Waterpark RFC) (C), Colin Slater (Thomond RFC), Jordan O’Donnell (Thomond RFC), Olan Deane (Clonakilty RFC), Ruarí O’Donnell (St. Mary’s RFC), Mark O’Connell (Kinsale RFC), Ryain Ahern (Thomond RFC), Conor Horan (Waterpark RFC). Replacements from: Cathal O’Regan (Clonakilty RFC), TJ Relihan (Newcastle West RFC), James Connell O’Brien (Bandon RFC), Ciaran Vaughan (Kanturk RFC), Adam Sheehan (Skibbereen RFC), Josh Brady (Bandon RFC), Jack O’Connell (Crosshaven RFC), Dave Shannon (Skibbereen RFC), Stephen Hyland (St. Mary’s RFC), Ryan O’Connell (Old Christians RFC), Jake Madigan (Charleville & District RFC).

LEINSTER JUNIOR MEN: 15. Eoin Duffy (Boyne RFC), 14. Ciaran Fennessy (Athy RFC), 13. Mikey Russell (Clondalkin RFC), 12. Mark Kehoe (Gorey RFC), 11. Robbie Vallejo (Boyne RFC), 10. Craig Miller (Athy RFC) (CAPTAIN), 9. Tristan Brady (Monkstown FC)
, 1. Michael Tracey (Roscrea RFC), 2. Graham Reynolds (Balbriggan RFC), 3. Robert Farrell (Dundalk RFC), 4. Wes Carter (Kilkenny RFC), 5. Wes Shirley (Co. Carlow FC), 6. Ruadhán McDonnell (Monkstown FC), 7. Zach Jungmann (Seapoint RFC), 8. John Dever (Monkstown FC). Replacements:16. Sean Arrowsmith (Dundalk RFC), 17. Rob Scully (Cill Dara RFC, 18. Hugh Carolan (Boyne RFC), 19. Benny McManus (Longford RFC), 20. Gary Dunne (Kilkenny RFC), 21. Paulie Tolofua (DLSP FC), 22. Jake McDonald (Kilkenny RFC), 23. Garrett Fitzgerald (Tullow RFC).

CONNACHT 20 ULSTER 43, Connemara RFC

Scorers: Connacht: Try: Tommy Mullin, Ethan Griffiths, Liam Robinson; Con: Barry Walsh, Pen: Barry Walsh
Ulster: Tries: Kieran Donaghy, Paul Armstrong, Stephen Corr, Davey Graham 2, Callum Smyton, Stuart Wightman, Con: David Maxwell 4

HT: Connacht 8 Ulster 17

CONNACHT JUNIOR MEN: Ian Heanue (Connemara RFC), Sean O’Sullivan (Tuam RFC), Barry Walsh (Castlebar RFC), Owen Coyle (Creggs RFC), Ethan Griffiths (Connemara RFC), Shane Purcell (Creggs RFC), Michael O’Toole (Capt) (Connemara RFC), Aidan Healy (Ballyhaunis RFC), Benjamin Hynes (Sligo RFC), Ian Staunton (Connemara RFC), Rory Murphy (Ballinrobe RFC), Oisin Halpin (NUIG RFC), Brian Diffley (Creggs RFC), Tommy Mullin (Connemara RFC), Fintan Cawley (Ballyhaunis RFC). Replacements: James Geraghty (Dunmore RFC), Caolan Fitzhenry (Galway Corinthians RFC), Stephen O’Toole (Dunmore RFC), Liam Robinson (Castlebar RFC), Sean O’Grady (NUIG RFC), David McDonagh (Connemara RFC), Ross Fahy (Tuam RFC), Ian Murphy (Tuam RFC).

ULSTER JUNIOR MEN: 1 Kieran Donaghy – Lurgan RFC, 2 Matthew Coulter (C) – Ballyclare RFC, 3 Angus Cunningham – Lurgan RFC, 4 Callum Foreman – Cooke RFC, 5 David Stinson – Clogher Valley RFC, 6 Will Scott – Ballymoney RFC, 7 Callum Smyton – Clogher Valley RFC, 8 Stephen Corr – City of Derry RFC, 9 Gerard Treanor – Monaghan RFC, 10 David Maxwell – Clogher Valley RFC, 11 Davey Graham – City of Derry RFC, 12 Nathan Burns – CIYMS RFC, 13 Paul Armstrong – Clogher Valley RFC, 14 Connor Phillips – Cooke RFC, 15 Andrew Rutledge – Dromore RFC
Replacements: 16 Rory Stewart* – Dromore RFC, 17 Neil Henderson- Clogher Valley RFC, 18 Adam Barron – Ballyclare RFC, 19 Toby Mannus – Cooke RFC, 20 Reuben McCreery – Lurgan RFC, 21 Peter Gillespie* – Ballyclare RFC, 22 Charlie Williamson – Lurgan RFC, 23 Stuart Wightman – Lisburn RFC

*Denotes New Cap