Jump to main content



Energia All-Ireland League Men’s Divisions: Round 9 Results Round-Up (Postponed Games)

Energia All-Ireland League Men’s Divisions: Round 9 Results Round-Up (Postponed Games)

Centre James O'Donovan runs in Old Wesley's bonus point try during their win away to Banbridge in Energia All-Ireland League Men's Division 1B ©INPHO/Leah Scholes

There were some exciting finishes across the Energia All-Ireland League this afternoon, as some clubs began their New Year schedule early with re-fixed round 9 matches. Click here for the previous results from this round.


Saturday, January 7 –


BALLYNAHINCH 31 UCD 25, Ballymacarn Park
Scorers: Ballynahinch: Tries: Bradley Luney, Kyle McCall, 2 Penalty tries; Cons: Greg Hutley 2, 2 Pen try cons; Pen: Greg Hutley
UCD: Tries: Michael Moloney, Ross Deegan, Dylan O’Grady, Harry Donnelly; Con: Niall Carroll; Pen: Tim Corkery
HT: Ballynahinch 7 UCD 13

BALLYNAHINCH: Rory Butler; Fergus Jemphrey, George Pringle, Mark Best, Aaron Cairns; Greg Hutley, Conor McAuley; Nacho Cladera Crespo, Claytan Milligan, Kyle McCall, James Simpson, Tom Martin, Bradley Luney, Zack McCall, Jamie Macartney.

Replacements: Conor Piper, John Dickson, Kyle Gill, Chris Gibson, Ryan Wilson, Oscar Yandell.

UCD: Niall Carroll; Alex O’Grady, Harry Donnelly, Tim Corkery, Dylan O’Grady; James Tarrant, Michael Moloney; Chris Hennessy, Bobby Sheehan (capt), Rory McGuire, Martin Fallon, Gerry Hill, Joe Cronin, Oisin Spain, Bill Burns.

Replacements: Rob Harvey, Hugo O’Malley, Ryan McMahon, Lorcan Fallon, Thomas Quinn, Ross Deegan.

Scorers: Dublin University: Tries: Ronan Quinn, Thomas Connolly, Aran Egan, James Dillon, Louis O’Reilly; Cons: Aran Egan 5
Cork Constitution: Tries: James Murphy 2, Mark Stafford, Billy Crowley, Max Abbott; Cons: Aidan Moynihan 5
HT: Dublin University 21 Cork Constitution 14

DUBLIN UNIVERSITY: Colm Hogan; James Dillon, Louis McDonough, Gavin Jones, Ronan Quinn; Aran Egan, Louis O’Reilly (capt); Jerry Cahir, Mark Nicholson, Thomas Connolly, Jack Kearney, Dan Barron, Anthony Ryan, Sean McCrohan, Ruadhan Byron.

Replacements: Zach Baird, Bart Vermeulen, Max Dunne, Cormac King, Liam McMahon, Hugh O’Kennedy.

CORK CONSTITUTION: George Coomber; Michael Hand, Harry O’Riordan, Niall Kenneally, Billy Crowley; Aidan Moynihan (capt), Ian Leonard; Brendan Quinlan, Billy Scannell, Luke Masters, Sean Duffy, Cathal O’Flaherty, Mark Stafford, James Murphy, David Hyland.

Replacements: Max Abbott, Alessandro Heaney, Andrew Treacy, Matisse Lamarque d’Arrouzat, Louis Kahn, Matthew Bowen.

Energia All-Ireland League Men’s Division 1A: Round 9 Review


Scorers: Banbridge: Tries: Robin Sinton, Conor Field, Penalty try, Peter Cromie; Cons: Adam Doherty 2, Pen try con
Old Wesley: Tries: Iain McGann, Nathan Randles, Alex Molloy 2, James O’Donovan, Tommy O’Callaghan; Cons: Josh Miller 3
HT: Banbridge 0 Old Wesley 31

BANBRIDGE: Adam Doherty, Conor Field, Ross Cartmill, Josh Cromie, Jamie Mullan; Ian Porter, Neil Kilpatrick; Joshua Chambers, Peter Cromie, Michael Cromie, Daniel Kilpatrick, Alexander Thompson, Alexander Wier, Dale Carson, Robin Sinton

Replacements: Timothy Savage, Christian Trimble, Jake Smyth, Stephen Irvine, Aaron Kennedy, Cameron Millar

OLD WESLEY: Alex Molloy; Nathan Randles, James O’Donovan, David Poff, Tommy O’Callaghan; Josh Miller, Keith Kavanagh; Harry Noonan, Howard Noonan, Cronan Gleeson, Brian Short, Iain McGann (capt), Sam Pim, Will Fay, Reuben Pim.

Replacements: Finn Tierney, Sam Kenny, Rob Loftus, Dom Maclean, Andrew Vincent, Eoin Monahan.

MALONE 11 CITY OF ARMAGH 13, Gibson Park
Scorers: Malone: Try: Declan Moore; Pens: Rory Campbell 2
City of Armagh: Tries: Peter Lamb, Evin Crummie; Pen: Ryan Purvis
HT: Malone 3 City Of Armagh 5

MALONE: Andy Bryans; Rory Campbell, Jack McMurtry, Nathan Brown, David McMaster; Shane Kelly, Zach Shore; Ben Halliday, Dan Kerr, Ricky Greenwood, Adam McNamee, Cory Tipping, Daryl Maxwell, Dave Cave (capt), Neill Alcorn.

Replacements: Sam Green, Lawson Porter, James McAlister, Zach Devine, Ryan Lindsay, Ben Gibson.

CITY OF ARMAGH: Ryan Purvis; Andrew Willis, Matthew Hooks, Tim McNiece (capt), Sam Cunningham; Evin Crummie, Jack Hughes; Dylan Poyntz, Peter Lamb, Philip Fletcher, Josh McKinley, John Glasgow, Nigel Simpson, Ryan O’Neill, Neil Faloon.

Replacements: Sam Anderson, Paul Mullen, James Crummie, Jack Treanor, David Agnew, Glen Faloon.

ST. MARY’S COLLEGE 14 HIGHFIELD 34, Templeville Road
Scorers: St Mary’s College: Tries: Hugo Conway 2; Cons: Mick O’Gara 2
Highfield: Tries: James Taylor, James French, Richard Cassidy, Cian Bohane, Colin O’Neill; Con: James Taylor 3; Pen: James Taylor
HT: St. Mary’s College 0 Highfield 17

ST. MARY’S COLLEGE: Mark Fogarty; Hugo Conway, Ryan O’Loughlin, Mick O’Gara, Hugh Lane; Aaron O’Neill, Andrew Walsh; Adam Mulvihill, Steven O’Brien, Jack Reidy Walsh, Peter Starrett, Daniel Leane, Niall Hurley, Ethan Baxter, Ronan Watters (capt).

Replacements: Richie Halpin, Padraig Dundon, Harry MacDonald, Max Svejdar, Senan Phelan, Liam Corcoran.

HIGHFIELD: Cian Bohane; Ben Murphy, Liam McCarthy, Mark Dorgan, Luke Kingston; James Taylor, Richard Cassidy; Cillian Buckley, Travis Coomey, James French, John O’Callaghan, Sean Garrett, Mark Fitzgibbon, Amhlaoibh Porter, Miah Cronin (capt).

Replacements: Robert Murphy, Ian McCarthy, Aidan Keane, Eoin Keating, Dave O’Sullivan, Colin O’Neill.


Ballymena 12 Queen’s University 26, Eaton Park
Cashel 17 Blackrock College 17, Spafield
Nenagh Ormond 31 Navan 15, New Ormond Park
UL Bohemians 20 MU Barnhall 17, UL 4G pitch


Belfast Harlequins 19 Malahide 19, Deramore Park
Dungannon 19 Rainey Old Boys 21, Stevenson Park


Tullamore 22 Ballina 15, Spollanstown
Midleton 20 Bruff 24, Towns Park