Jump to main content


Griggs Names Unchanged Ireland Team For Scotland Showdown

Griggs Names Unchanged Ireland Team For Scotland Showdown

Head coach Adam Griggs has named his Ireland team for Saturday’s Rugby World Cup 2021 Europe Qualifier showdown with Scotland in Parma (kick-off 5pm Irish time, live on RTÉ 2, World Rugby YouTube and rugbyworldcup.com/2021).

Griggs has selected an unchanged starting XV for the round 3 clash at Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi, as Ireland bid to book their ticket to next year’s World Cup in New Zealand.

Heading into the final round of fixtures, Ireland, hosts Italy, Spain and Scotland are all locked on five points in the standings with Saturday’s double header set to determine which side secures their spot New Zealand and who progresses through to the final repechage tournament as the second-ranked team.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Griggs has maintained consistency in selection for the meeting with Six Nations rivals Scotland, rewarding the players who produced a measured performance to defeat Italy in round 2.

Eimear ConsidineAmee-Leigh Murphy Crowe and Beibhinn Parsons, who is gunning for her third try of the tournament, continue in the back-three, with Eve Higgins and Sene Naoupu retained in midfield.

Stacey Flood and Kathryn Dane get the nod again at half-back, while Ballybofey native Laura Feely retains the number 1 jersey, packing down with Cliodhna Moloney and Linda Djougang.

Captain Ciara Griffin anchors the back row on the occasion of her 39th cap, ably supported by all-action flankers Dorothy Wall and Edel McMahon.

There is one change on the bench from last week, with Ireland Sevens captain Lucy Mulhall returning to the matchday 23 in place of the injured Enya Breen.

Commenting ahead of the must-win game, Griggs said: “It has been another good week of preparation, and the group have maintained that laser-focus on the task ahead.

“We’re under no illusions of the challenge facing us but also the prize on offer, and have not shied away from embracing the pressure Saturday will inevitably bring.

“We have received huge support from home throughout this tournament and are looking forward to having more green in Parma on Saturday. Hopefully we can deliver the result we’re all striving to achieve.”

Saturday’s crunch tie will be broadcast on RTÉ 2 for supporters in the Republic of Ireland, as well as on World Rugby’s YouTube and Facebook channels and on rugbyworldcup.com/2021.

IRELAND WOMEN’S Team & Replacements (v Scotland Women, Rugby World Cup 2021 Europe Qualifier, Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi, Parma, Saturday, September 25, kick-off 5pm):

Player/Club/Province/Caps –

15. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/Munster) 20
14. Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union/Munster) 4
13. Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster) 4
12. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 43
11. Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Blackrock College/Connacht) 13
10. Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster) 5
9. Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster) 15
1. Laura Feely (Blackrock College/Connacht) 21
2. Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/IQ Rugby) 28
3. Linda Djougang  (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 14
4. Nichola Fryday (Blackrock College/Connacht) 20
5. Sam Monaghan (Wasps/IQ Rugby) 2
6. Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College/Munster) 9
7. Edel McMahon (Wasps/IQ Rugby) 11
8. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt) 38


16. Neve Jones (Malone/Ulster) 4
17. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster) 36
18. Leah Lyons (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby) 27
19. Brittany Hogan (DCU/Old Belvedere/Ulster) 6
20. Claire Molloy (Wasps/IQ Rugby) 72
21. Emily Lane (Blackrock College/Munster) 5
22. Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum/Leinster) 1
23. Lauren Delany  (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby) 15