Jump to main content


PWC logo

Deeny And O’Reilly Start As Ireland U-20 Team Shows Seven Changes

Deeny And O’Reilly Start As Ireland U-20 Team Shows Seven Changes

Wexford native Brian Deeny runs in his charge-down try during the Ireland Under-20s' play-off clash with England on Monday ©INPHO/Pablo Gasparini

Head coach Noel McNamara has made seven personnel changes and one positional switch to the Ireland Under-20 team (sponsored by PwC) to play New Zealand in Saturday’s 7th-8th place play-off in Rosario (kick-off 1pm local time/5pm Irish time).

As Ireland wrap up the World Rugby U-20 Championship against the Baby Blacks, Leinster duo Max O’Reilly and Brian Deeny come in to make their first U-20 starts at full-back and number 8 respectively. Deeny ran in a superb charge-down try as a second half replacement against England.

Rewarded for their excellent durability and form, Liam Turner and Jake Flannery complete their ever-present runs in the back-line with their tenth consecutive starts. Centre Turner has played all 720 minutes of the U-20s’ matches in 2019, closely followed by the versatile Flannery who has moved between the full-back and out-half positions.

Flannery takes the reins at number 10 this weekend, combining at half-back with his Shannon and Munster colleague Craig Casey. O’Reilly, Angus Kernohan, Cormac Foley and Rob Russell are the other changes behind the scrum, the latter two having both touched down against Italy last week.

Ireland’s starting front row from their U-20 Six Nations Grand Slam-winning campaign is restored – Josh Wycherley and Thomas Clarkson pack down either side of talismanic hooker Dylan Tierney-Martin – and the final alteration sees Ulster’s Azur Allison make way for Deeny in the back row.

No matter the result on Saturday, McNamara’s charges will claim Ireland’s best World Rugby U-20 Championship finish in three years. The play-off clash will be broadcast live on eir Sport 1 and there will be live streaming via the World Rugby website in certain regions. Tickets are available from www.ticketek.com.ar.

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements (v New Zealand Under-20s, 2019 World Rugby U-20 Championship – 7th-8th Place Play-Off, Club Old Resian, Rosario, Argentina, Saturday, June 22, kick-off 1pm local time/5pm Irish time):

15. Max O’Reilly (Dublin University/Leinster)
14. Angus Kernohan (Queen’s University/Ulster)
13. Liam Turner (Dublin University/Leinster)
12. Cormac Foley (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
11. Rob Russell (Dublin University/Leinster)
10. Jake Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
9. Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster)
1. Josh Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster)
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians/Connacht)
3. Thomas Clarkson (Dublin University/Leinster)
4. Charlie Ryan (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
5. Thomas Ahern (Shannon/Munster)
6. Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster)
7. Ronan Watters (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
8. Brian Deeny (Clontarf/Leinster)


16. Declan Adamson (Clontarf/Leinster)
17. Michael Milne (UCD/Leinster)
18. Charlie Ward (Clontarf/Leinster)
19. John McKee (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
20. Niall Murray (Buccaneers/Connacht) 
21. Luke Clohessy (Shannon/Munster)
22. Azur Allison (Ballymena/Ulster)
24. Colm Reilly (Buccaneers/Connacht)
25. Ben Healy (Garryowen/Munster)
26. Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution/Munster)
27. David Ryan (UCD/Leinster)
28. Aaron O’Sullivan (UCD/Leinster)

Ireland Under-20s – World Rugby U-20 Championship Results/Fixtures


Tuesday, June 4 – England 26 IRELAND 42, CRAI, Santa Fe

Saturday. June 8 – Australia 45 IRELAND 17, CRAI, Santa Fe

Wednesday, June 12 – Italy 14 IRELAND 38, CRAI, Santa Fe


Monday, June 17 – 5th-8th Place Play-Off: IRELAND 23 England 30, Club Old Resian, Rosario


Saturday, June 22 – 7th-8th Place Play-Off: IRELAND v New Zealand, Club Old Resian, Rosario, 1pm local time/5pm Irish time