Jump to main content


Burns Included In Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad For Kitakyushu

Burns Included In Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad For Kitakyushu

Lucy Mulhall will captain Ireland at this weekend's International Rugby 7s. ©Stuart Walmsley

The Ireland Women’s Sevens squad has been confirmed for the fourth round of the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series in Kitakyushu, Japan this weekend.

The squad of 13 players will be captained by Lucy Mulhall and includes talented teenager Megan Burns who is named for her first World Series trip. The Tullamore starlet turned 19 last week, and having progressed through the Ireland Sevens pathways, she won her first cap in the Rugby Europe Sevens Grand Prix Series in Kazan in September.

Mulhall and her team-mates made history with a terrific fourth-place finish at the last World Series event in Sydney back in February. They will be looking to keep momentum going at the Mikuni World Stadium this weekend. They are drawn in Pool C alongside familiar opponents in England, Fiji and the USA.

On confirmation of the squad, Ireland Sevens coach Stan McDowell said:

It’s our third time to compete at this tournament in Kitakyushu and it’s a fantastic setting. I know the players are always impressed with the pitch in the Mikuni World Stadium.

“We have a nice mix of players in the squad, with the younger players learning and developing more and more as the season continues, while the more experienced players in the squad are helping them along and also improving their own game at the same time.

“There has been a bit of a gap between the last World Series event in Sydney and this weekend, so I know the players are looking forward to getting back out there and playing.”

More information on the Kitakyushu 7s and the World Rugby Sevens Series, including where to watch, is available here. The matches will be streamed live on World Rugby’s online channels, including YouTube, Facebook and via www.world.rugby.

The Ireland Sevens jerseys are available to buy online here from Elverys Intersport, official sports retailer of the IRFU.

IRELAND WOMEN’S SEVENS Squad (2018/19 HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series – Kitakyushu 7s, Mikuni World Stadium, Kitakyushu, Japan, Saturday, April 20-Sunday, April 21):

Claire Boles (Railway Union/Ulster)
Megan Burns (Tullamore/Leinster)
Aoife Doyle (Shannon/Railway Union/Munster)
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Katie Heffernan (Mullingar/Railway Union/Leinster)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)
Brittany Hogan (Railway Union/Ulster)
Emily Lane (Mallow/Munster)
Anna McGann (UCD/Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum) (capt)
Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union/Munster)
Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (Old Belvedere/Munster)
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)


Saturday, April 20 –

Pool C:

Ireland v Fiji, Mikuni World Stadium, 10.30am local time/2.30am Irish time
Ireland v England, Mikuni World Stadium, 1.14pm local time/5.14am Irish time
USA v Ireland, Mikuni World Stadium, 4.20pm local time/8.20am Irish time

Sunday, April 21 –

Play-Offs & Finals


USA (Denver), Infinity Park, Glendale, October 20-21 – 6th Place/10 Points
DUBAI, Sevens Stadium, Dubai, November 29-30 – 8th Place/6 Points
AUSTRALIA (Sydney), Spotless Stadium, Sydney, February 1-3 – 4th Place/14 Points
JAPAN (Kitakyushu), Mikuni World Stadium, Kitakyushu, April 20-21
CANADA (Langford), Westhills Stadium, Vancouver Island, May 11-12
FRANCE (Biarritz), Stade Aguiléra, Biarritz, June 15-16