Jump to main content


All-Ireland League Action Returns Across Three Divisions

All-Ireland League Action Returns Across Three Divisions

The All-Ireland League kicks off this weekend in Divisions 2A, 2B and 2C. The first match of the league season sees Wanderers host Greystones at the Aviva Stadium on Friday night, while the top two tiers kick off a week later.

In Division 2C, league newcomers Ballina will get their campaign underway when they welcome Omagh to Heffernan Park on Saturday afternoon. Coached by David Newman and JP Leonard, the Co. Mayo club were unbeaten in the Round Robin series at the end of last season.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Phil Marshall’s Omagh side finished second in the division last season but missed out on promotion in a play-off with Belfast Harlequins. They will be hoping that some untimely early season injuries can clear for the opening rounds of the All-Ireland League.

There is a distinct Munster flavour to Division 2A with six of the ten sides from the province. Dolphin, who are now coached by Robbie Doyle, and UL Bohemians drop down from the league’s second tier and both face provincial rivals on the opening weekend.

The Corkmen make the short trip up the M8 to Cashel, while the Limerick club, now captained by second row Daragh Frawley, welcome Highfield to the 4G pitch at the University of Limerick, which recently played host to the IRFU Under-18 Interprovincial Festival.

Division 2A also sees the first full All-Ireland League double header as Blackrock College, who have Jordan Larmour’s younger brother Adam playing at full-back, host Galwegians in both the Men’s and Women’s competitions. The men’s sides kick off at 2.30pm with the Women’s match at 5pm.

Division 2B kicks off with the aforementioned Friday Night Lights clash at the Aviva Stadium, and the action continues on Saturday afternoon with matches in all four provinces at Dungannon, Corinthians, who have former Connacht prop JP Cooney on board as their new head coach, MU Barnhall and Sunday’s Well.

Click here for the full list of All-Ireland League fixtures.