Jump to main content


Fit-Again Frawley To Start For Leinster ‘A’ In Celtic Cup

Fit-Again Frawley To Start For Leinster ‘A’ In Celtic Cup

Full-back Jack Kelly will captain the Leinster ‘A’ team when they face Ospreys Development in the Celtic Cup at Energia Park on Friday night (kick-off 7.30pm).

Jack Kelly is named at full-back with the starting wingers possessing 163 senior Leinster caps between them – Adam Byrne lines out on the right wing, with Leinster centurion Dave Kearney completing a strong back-three on the left.

The centre pairing of Jimmy O’Brien and Conor O’Brien is retained from last Saturday’s 16-10 win away to the Scarlets – with a swap in position – which kept Leinster ‘A’ at the top of Pool 1. Ciaran Frawley makes his return from a wrist injury to start at out-half, with recent senior debutant Hugh O’Sullivan starting at scrum-half once again.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The front row has been changed from last week with Peter Dooley, Bryan Byrne and Tom Clarkson coming in to start together. Jack Dunne features in the second row for the second game in succession and is paired with Ian Nagle on this occasion.

Josh Murphy and Ronan Foley are both retained in the back row, although Foley, an Ireland Under-20 international last season, moves from the openside berth to number 8, with Ireland U-19 cap Scott Penny coming in to wear the number 7 jersey.

Supporters can pay at the gate at Energia Park on Friday with entry to the stand from €;15/10 and entry to the terrace from €;10/5. Leinster Rugby Season Ticket holders can enter for free when they show their Season Ticket card at the gate.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Ospreys Development): Jack Kelly (capt); Adam Byrne, Jimmy O’Brien, Conor O’Brien, Dave Kearney; Ciaran Frawley, Hugh O’Sullivan; Peter Dooley, Bryan Byrne, Tom Clarkson, Jack Dunne, Ian Nagle, Josh Murphy, Scott Penny, Ronan Foley.

Replacements: Dan Sheehan, Michael Milne, Vakh Abdaladze, Charlie Ryan, Ronan Watters, Patrick Patterson, David Hawkshaw, Michael Silvester.