Jump to main content


Ireland Students Squad Named For England Trip

Ireland Students Squad Named For England Trip

A 23-man Combined Ireland Students squad will travel to Oxford this weekend to take on the England Students following the revival of the historic fixture last year.

Ireland Students took on England Students in a cracking game hosted at Dublin University’s College Park in April last year with the visitors taking the spoils 57-30.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

This year Iffley Road, the home of Oxford University RFC, will provide the backdrop for what promises to be another entertaining match.

Bailey Faloon (Limerick IT and Garryowen) featured for Munster ‘A’ earlier this season, while Ireland Students captain Darren Hudson (Maynooth University and MU Barnhall) is a graduate of the Leinster Academy and capped at PRO12 level.

Meanwhile, brothers Brian and Kevin Slater will make it a family affair as they represent Dublin University and UCC respectively.

The Ireland Students squad gathered in UCD today as they continue their preparations, under coaches Dan van Zyl and Brendan O’Connor, for Sunday’s match.

They will be presented with their match jerseys by IRFU Senior Vice President and former Ireland international prop Philip Orr.

COMBINED IRELAND STUDENTS Squad (v England Students, Students International Match, Iffley Road, Oxford, Sunday, April 2, kick-off 2.30pm):

Backs (10) –

Fergal Cleary (Dublin Institute of Technology)
Kyle Dixon (Dublin University)
Matthew Gilsenan (University College Dublin)
Darren Hudson (Maynooth University) (capt)
Andy Marks (University College Dublin)
Josh McIlroy (University of Ulster)
Bryan Mollen (Dublin University)
Nick Peters  (University College Dublin)
Brian Slater (Dublin University)
Kevin Slater (University College Cork)

Forwards (13) –

James Bollard (Dublin Institute of Technology)
Jack Burke (Dublin University) (vice-capt)
Luke Cahill (Cork Institute of Technology)
Tony Cusack (Mary Immaculate College)
Pierce Dargan (Dublin University)
Jack Dwan (University College Dublin)
Bailey Faloon (Limerick Institute of Technology)
Andrew Keating (Dublin University)
Conor Maguire (Dublin City University)
Ben Mitchell (University College Cork)
John Molony (NUI Galway)
Colm Skehan (Limerick Institute of Technology)
Raef Tyrrell (Dublin University)