Jump to main content


Ed Byrne Set To Return From Injury For Leinster ‘A’

Ed Byrne Set To Return From Injury For Leinster ‘A’

The Leinster ‘A’ team to play Nottingham at Lady Bay in the British & Irish Cup on Friday (kick-off 7.45pm) has been named. Both sides know a win is crucial if they are to keep their hopes of quarter-final qualification alive.

The Scarlets Premiership Select currently top British & Irish Cup Pool 4 with 15 points from four games. Leinster ‘A’ are second in the table on 10 points, with Nottingham trailing them on points difference.

The province’s selected side sees Cathal Marsh named at out-half. It will be the St. Mary’s clubman’s first appearance in a Leinster jersey since October after recovering from a hand injury. He will be partnered in the half-backs by Nick McCarthy.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Tom Daly and Jimmy O’Brien are two of just three players retained in the back-line from the defeat to the Scarlets PS in round 4. The two are paired together in midfield.

Barry Daly, who also started in that defeat away to the Welsh outfit, is named on the left wing, with Hugo Keenan and Billy Dardis, who also makes a return from injury, completing the back-three.

Peadar Timmins captains the province from the back row, alongside the experienced Dominic Ryan and promising youngster Max Deegan.

There is plenty of experience in the shape of Ian Nagle in the second row where he is partnered by David O’Connor in the second row. Andrew Porter, Bryan Byrne and Oisin Heffernan start in the front row.

There is also a return to action for Ed Byrne who is named on the bench. Byrne featured for UCD in a friendly match last weekend, making a try-scoring appearance from the bench. This will be his first appearance in a Leinster jersey since August 2015.

Leinster ‘A’ return to Donnybrook next Friday to face Richmond in their final match of the B&I Cup pool stages. Tickets are on sale now.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Nottingham): Billy Dardis; Hugo Keenan, Jimmy O’Brien, Tom Daly, Barry Daly; Cathal Marsh, Nick McCarthy; Andrew Porter, Bryan Byrne, Oisín Heffernan, David O’Connor, Ian Nagle, Peadar Timmins (capt), Dominic Ryan, Max Deegan.

Replacements: Sean McNulty, Ed Byrne, Jeremy Loughman, David Aspil, Jack Power, Ciaran Frawley, Jordan Larmour.