Jump to main content


Munster ‘A’ Team Shows Six Changes

Munster ‘A’ Team Shows Six Changes

Munster ‘A’ head coach Peter Malone has named his team for Friday night’s British & Irish Cup game against Doncaster Knights at Bandon RFC (kick-off 7pm).

Peter Malone makes six changes to the side that recorded a bonus point win in last weekend’s rescheduled clash with the same English Championship outfit.

Stephen Archer is introduced at tighthead prop with Brian Scott switching to loosehead this week. There is a new-look second row with senior players John Madigan and Darren O’Shea starting together, while the Academy’s Conor Oliver starts at openside flanker with Bandon Grammar graduate Gavin Coombes moving to number 8.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The two changes to the back-line see Academy player Stephen Fitzgerald start on the left wing and Cian Bohane takes the place of the injured Sam Arnold in midfield. Bohane will also captain the province.

In the replacements, Cork Constitution’s Alex McHenry and Young Munster’s Alan Tynan, who were both named in the December Ireland Under-20 panel, are included in their first British & Irish Cup squad.

Munster ‘A’ v Doncaster Knights tickets will be available from Bandon RFC at 5.30pm. Ticket prices: family pack €;20 (2 adults & 2 junior), adult €;10 and junior €;3. There is free entry for Munster Rugby Supporters Club members and Ten-Year ticket holders on production of their season tickets/cards.

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Doncaster Knights): David Johnston; Calvin Nash, Dan Goggin, Cian Bohane (capt), Stephen Fitzgerald; Te Aihe Toma, John Poland; Brian Scott, Kevin O’Byrne, Stephen Archer; John Madigan, Darren O’Shea; Dave O’Callaghan, Conor Oliver, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Vincent O’Brien, Liam O’Connor, Rory Burke, Fineen Wycherley, John Foley, Alex McHenry, Alan Tynan.