Jump to main content


Zebo Slots Back In On The Wing For Munster

Zebo Slots Back In On The Wing For Munster

Munster head coach Anthony Foley has made three changes to the team for Saturday’s return to Thomond Park where the province face the Newport Gwent Dragons in round 17 of the GUINNESS PRO12 (kick-off 7.35pm).  

Following his Six Nations involvement against England in Twickenham last weekend, Simon Zebo has been made available to the province and will make his first appearance in red since January.

Stephen Archer also makes a welcome return to the matchday squad after successfully overcoming a neck injury that has kept him sidelined since October. Should he make an appearance from the bench, the tighthead prop will win his 100th Munster cap.
The first of two changes to the pack sees hooker Niall Scannell join Dave Kilcoyne and John Ryan in the front row. Mark Chisholm and captain Billy Holland continue in the second row, while in the back row, Tommy O’Donnell returns at openside flanker with Dave O’Callaghan and Jack O’Donoghue switching to blindside and number 8 respectively.
Zebo starts on the left wing in an otherwise unchanged back-line. Duncan Williams and Ian Keatley form the half-back partnership and Rory Scannell makes his tenth consecutive start at inside centre in partnering Francis Saili in the midfield. Winger Darren Sweetnam and full-back Andrew Conway complete the starting line-up.
If called upon from the bench, recent long-term injury returnee Johnny Holland, who has impressed for Cork Constitution of late, will make his first appearance of the season.
In other news, this week saw Mario Sagario called up to the Uruguayan international squad for the Americas Rugby Championship. The Munster tighthead will start against the USA in Montevideo on Saturday.
MUNSTER (v Newport Gwent Dragons): Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Mark Chisholm, Billy Holland (capt), Dave O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Replacements: Mike Sherry, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, Dave Foley, Robin Copeland, Cathal Sheridan, Johnny Holland, David Johnston.