Jump to main content


Venues Confirmed For Ireland Tour To South Africa

Venues Confirmed For Ireland Tour To South Africa

The South African Rugby Union (SARU) have today confirmed the dates and venues for Ireland’s three-Test 2016 summer Tour next June.

Ireland will take on the Rugby World Cup bronze medallists in three different venues over consecutive weekends in June 2016. 

The first Test against the Springboks will take place in Cape Town on Saturday, June 11, the second will be held in Johannesburg on Saturday, June 18, and the final match of the series will be played in Port Elizabeth on Saturday, June 25.
Ireland have never won a Test match in South Africa and last toured there in 2004 when the hosts won the Test series 2-0.   

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Since that series, Ireland have won four of the six Test matches between the two nations, all of which have been played in Ireland – including the 29-15 win during last November’s GUINNESS Series.


South Africa v IRELAND
DHL Newlands, Cape Town
Saturday, June 11, 2016
South Africa v IRELAND
Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Saturday, June 18, 2016
South Africa v IRELAND
Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth
Saturday, June 25, 2016