Jump to main content


Munster Include Earls And Murray For Edinburgh Clash

Munster Include Earls And Murray For Edinburgh Clash

Rugby World Cup returnees Conor Murray and Keith Earls will make their first Munster appearances of the season after being named in the team to face Edinburgh at BT Murrayfield on Saturday (kick-off 5.15pm).

Head coach Anthony Foley makes eight changes to the side that defeated Ulster at Thomond Park for this weekend’s round 7 clash in the GUINNESS PRO12.

An all-new front row sees Dave Kilcoyne and Duncan Casey come back in with tighthead John Ryan making his first start of the season. Donnacha Ryan is another player to make his first Munster start of the season and does so partnering Dave Foley in the second row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Dave O’Callaghan returns at blindside flanker with Jack O’Donoghue continuing in the number 7 jersey. Captain CJ Stander completes the back row in switching back to number 8 for Saturday evening’s encounter.

Conor Murray (pictured below) and Ian Keatley resume their half-back partnership for the first time this season, with Francis Saili and Keith Earls forming a new pairing in the midfield.

The only personnel change among the back-three sees winger Ronan O’Mahony make his first start of the current campaign. Gerhard van den Heever remains on the right wing and Simon Zebo reverts to the full-back position.

Uruguayan international Mario Sagario is again in line to make his first appearance for the province after being named on the bench.

On the injury front, Billy Holland (ankle) has completed his rehabilitation programme and is set to play a part in Cork Constitution’s Ulster Bank League match against Young Munster at Tom Clifford Park on Saturday. Meanwhile, Munster squad captain Peter O’Mahony’s knee surgery is expected to take place in a fortnight’s time.

MUNSTER (v Edinburgh): Simon Zebo; Gerhard van den Heever, Keith Earls, Francis Saili, Ronan O’Mahony; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Duncan Casey, John Ryan, Donnacha Ryan, Dave Foley, Dave O’Callaghan, Jack O’Donoghue, CJ Stander (capt).

Replacements: Niall Scannell, James Cronin, Mario Sagario, Robin Copeland, Jordan Coghlan, Tomás O’Leary, Rory Scannell, Denis Hurley.