Jump to main content


Ireland at the 2019 Rugby World Cup

Argentina Make Ten Changes For Cardiff Showdown

Argentina Make Ten Changes For Cardiff Showdown

Argentina have reverted to their strongest team for Sunday’s Rugby World Cup quarter-final against Ireland, with head coach Daniel Hourcade making 10 changes to the side that beat Namibia 64-19.

Argentina’s starting line-up, which boasts 496 Test caps, has an all-new front row with Leicester Tigers clubman Marcos Ayerza, captain Agustin Creevy and Ramiro Herrera all returning.

Tomas Lavinini comes in for Matias Alemanno in the second row, with the latter dropping to the bench, and experienced Toulon flanker Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe and number 8 Leonardo Senatore resume in the back row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the backs, the 33-year-old Juan Martin Hernandez reverts to inside centre to allow for the return of Nicolas Sanchez. Scrum half Martin Landajo and Matias Moroni retain their places, though Moroni moves to outside centre and Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino drops to the bench.

Landajo will win his 50th cap and is the most used player under Hourcade, Hernandez, Fernandez Lobbe and Ayerza all played in the 2007 World Cup bronze final.

Most of the Pumas’ squad is now under the banner of the UAR team, the first professional club in Argentina which will compete in the expanded Super Rugby competition next season.

Full-back Joaquin Tuculet, Sanchez, Landajo, Herrera and Lavanini all started against Ireland in Tucuman in June of last year when Joe Schmidt’s men secured a 2-0 series win.

ARGENTINA Team & Replacements (v Ireland, 2015 Rugby World Cup Quarter-Final, Millennium Stadium, Cardiff, Sunday, October 18, kick-off 1pm):

15. Joaquin Tuculet (UAR)
14. Santiago Cordero (UAR)
13. Matias Moroni (UAR)
12. Juan Martin Hernandez (UAR)
11. Juan Imhoff (Racing 92)
10. Nicolas Sanchez (UAR)
9. Martin Landajo (UAR)
1. Marcos Ayerza (Leicester Tigers)
2. Agustin Creevy (UAR) (capt)
3. Ramiro Herrera (UAR)
4. Guido Petti (UAR)
5. Tomas Lavanini (UAR)
6. Pablo Matera (UAR)
7. Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (Toulon)
8. Leonardo Senatore (Unattached)


16. Julian Montoya (UAR)
17. Lucas Noguera (UAR)
18. Juan Pablo Orlandi (Newcastle Falcons)
19. Matias Alemanno (UAR)
20. Facundo Isa (UAR)
21. Tomas Cubelli (UAR)
22. Jeronimo de la Fuente (UAR)
23. Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino (Unattached)