Jump to main content


O’Leary And Hurley On The Bench For Munster

O’Leary And Hurley On The Bench For Munster

Munster head coach Anthony Foley has named his team to face Cardiff Blues at Irish Independent Park on Saturday afternoon (kick-off 1.30pm).

CJ Stander will captain a Munster side that sees six changes to the one that defeated Glasgow Warriors, with fit-again backs Tomas O’Leary and Denis Hurley included in a matchday squad for the first time this season.

It is an all-new front row of Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry and BJ Botha with Mark Chisholm and Dave Foley continuing in the second row. Stander skippers the province from number 8 with Dave O’Callaghan and openside Jack O’Donoghue completing the back row.

Duncan Williams and Ian Keatley again pair up at half-back, while Academy player Rory Scannell and Francis Saili return to the starting line-up in midfield.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Two changes in the back-three see Shane Monahan make his second competitive start on the right wing with Andrew Conway switching to the full-back position, while Gerhard van den Heever remains on the opposite flank.

Having successfully completed their rehabilitation programmes, O’Leary and Hurley (pictured above) are in line to make their first appearances of the season after being named on the bench, and should John Ryan feature, the prop will win his 50th cap for the province.

On the injury front, it has been confirmed that Stephen Archer requires surgery after sustaining a neck injury during the recent win over Glasgow. The tighthead prop is expected to be sidelined for a number of months.

Adult tickets for Munster v Cardiff Blues start from €;15 while all accompanied KIDS GO FREE! Tickets can be purchased online here, from the Munster Rugby Ticket Offices at Irish Independent Park and Thomond Park, or by calling 0818 719 300.

MUNSTER (v Cardiff Blues): Andrew Conway; Shane Monahan, Francis Saili, Rory Scannell, Gerhard van den Heever; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, BJ Botha, Mark Chisholm, Dave Foley, Dave O’Callaghan, Jack O’Donoghue, CJ Stander (capt).

Replacements: Niall Scannell, James Cronin, John Ryan, Robin Copeland, Jordan Coghlan, Tomas O’Leary, Denis Hurley, Dave Johnston.