Jump to main content


Ireland Squad Named For Women’s Sevens Dublin

Ireland Squad Named For Women’s Sevens Dublin

The Ireland Women’s Sevens squad to play in the Women’s Sevens Dublin tournament has been named. Captained by Lucy Mulhall, the squad are competing for a coveted place on the World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series circuit.

The tournament takes place in the UCD Bowl this Saturday and Sunday. 12 teams from across the globe will descend on Dublin to take part in the event which will see the top two finishers qualify for the 2015/16 World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series.

Speaking ahead of the tournament, Anthony Eddy, IRFU Director of Rugby Sevens, said: “It’s massively important to get onto the World Series circuit, it’s our number one goal – that way we are playing against the best teams in the world. If we are going to have a shot at the world Olympic repechage, we are going to have to play at the best level.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“In our pool we face South Africa who are a team that have been on the world circuit for a couple of years now, and are one of the teams that have been relegated from last season. They will be desperate to perform at this event and get back on the series circuit. We are definitely up for the challenge and it’s great to have the tournament at home.

“With 12 countries competing in this event from all over the world, this is a great opportunity to give the game more exposure in Ireland.”

Tickets for the tournament start at 5 euro, with children free, and are available from ticketmaster.ie.
IRELAND WOMEN’S SEVENS Squad (Women’s Sevens Dublin – UCD Bowl, Dublin, Saturday, August 22-Sunday, August 23):

Audrey O’Flynn (TID)
Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union)
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere)
Amee-Leigh Crowe (Clanwilliam)
Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins)
Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock)
Claire Keohane (UL Bohemians)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum) (capt)
Claire Molloy (Bristol)
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemians)
Alison Miller (Portlaoise)

Saturday, August 22 –

12.50pm – Ireland v Mexico
3.22pm – Ireland v Hong Kong
6.28pm – South Africa v Ireland
Sunday, August 23 –