Jump to main content



Two Changes Made To England’s Back-Three

Two Changes Made To England’s Back-Three

England head coach Stuart Lancaster has named full-back Alex Goode and winger Jack Nowell in his team to face Ireland at the Aviva Stadium on Sunday (kick-off 3pm).

Saracens clubman Alex Goode, who starred in the 12-6 triumph last time England were in Dublin, starts his first Test for two years after replacing the sidelined Mike Brown. 

Jack Nowell –  in impressive domestic form with Exeter Chiefs –  is preferred to Gloucester’s Jonny May as the only two unbeaten teams in the RBS 6 Nations go head-to-head.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the only other change to the England matchday 23 that defeated Italy 47-17, Bath’s Henry Thomas replaces Kieran Brookes on the bench. The Newcastle Falcons prop is continuing to recover from a hip flexor strain he picked up earlier this week.

Explaining the selection, Stuart Lancaster said the two new names in his starting line-up had been pressing for inclusion for some time.

“We’ve made minimal changes as we felt the squad have performed well in the first two games. Alex is in good form for Saracens and has been training well over the last few weeks, as has Jack, who is also playing well for Exeter,” he said.

“Both have been pushing hard for selection and I am sure will seize their chance against a high quality Ireland side.

Chris Pennell and Manu Tuilagi will also travel. Manu has been recovering with us and so it’s good to continue keeping him connected. There are no Greene King IPA Championship matches this weekend so Chris can also spend more time with the squad.”

ENGLAND Team & Replacements (v Ireland, 2015 RBS 6 Nations Championship, Aviva Stadium, Sunday, March 1, kick-off 3pm):

Player/Club/Caps –

15. Alex Goode (Saracens) 16
14. Anthony Watson (Bath) 6
13. Jonathan Joseph (Bath) 8
12. Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints) 9
11. Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs) 5
10. George Ford (Bath) 8
9. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers) 44
1. Joe Marler (Harlequins) 28
2. Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints) 63
3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers) 47
4. David Attwood (Bath) 18
5. George Kruis (Saracens 6
6. James Haskell (Wasps) 55
7. Chris Robshaw (Harlequins) (capt) 34
8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens) 14


16. Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers) 19
17. Mako Vunipola (Saracens) 17
18. Henry Thomas (Bath) 7
19. Nick Easter (Harlequins) 49
20. Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers) 39
21. Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens) 18
22. Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks) 10
23. Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester) 18