Jump to main content


Ireland Women’s Team To Play England

Ireland Women’s Team To Play England

The Ireland Women’s team to play England in the third round of the Women’s RBS 6 Nations Championship at Ashbourne RFC on Friday has been named.

Head coach Tom Tierney has made a single change to the team that lost 10-5 to their French counterparts in the last outing of the tournament a fortnight ago.
Hannah Tyrrell, who missed out on the French game due to concussion, has completed the return-to-play protocols and will start on the right wing.
Tyrrell is joined by Alison Miller on the opposite wing with goal-kicking captain Niamh Briggs completing the back-three.
Jenny Murphy and recent debutant Katie Fitzhenry make up the centre pairing, while Nora Stapleton and Larissa Muldoon continue together at half-back.
Up front, Ruth O’Reilly, Gillian Bourke and Ailis Egan form the front row with the Old Belvedere and Leinster duo Sophie Spence and Marie Louise Reilly again named in the second row. Back rowers Paula Fitzpatrick, Claire Molloy and Heather O’Brien complete the pack.

Speaking ahead of the mid-tournament encounter, which will be streamed live on www.IrishRugby.ie, Tierney said: “England are a formidable opposition, they are the world champions and we are under no illusions about the strength of this side. Training has gone well and we’re looking forward to playing again in front of a home crowd.
“It was a disappointing loss against France, but there were some positives to take out of it. We have dusted ourselves off and are ready for the next challenge.”

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

IRELAND WOMEN’S Team & Replacements (v England Women, 2015 Women’s RBS 6 Nations, Ashbourne RFC, Friday, February 27, kick-off 7.30pm):

15. Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
14. Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
13. Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
12. Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/Leinster)
11. Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht)
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
9. Larissa Muldoon (Skewen)       
1. Ruth O’Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht)
2. Gillian Bourke (Olympico de Pozuelo)
3. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
4. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
5. Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
6. Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
8. Heather O’Brien (Highfield/Munster)

16. Sarah Mimnagh (Wasps/Exile)
17. Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians/Munster)
18. Fiona O’Brien (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
19. Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
20. Katie Norris (Blackrock/Leinster)
21. Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Leinster)
22. Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Exile)
23. Sene Naoupu (Galwegians/Connacht)

IRELAND WOMEN’S Management Team –

Anthony Eddy – Director of Sevens and Women’s Rugby
Tom Tierney – Head Coach
Declan O’Brien – Assistant Coach
Derek Dowling – Scrum Coach
Jean Casey – Team Manager
Marian Earls – Strength and Conditioning Co-ordinator
Lukasz Kirszenstein – Strength and Conditioning Coach
Brian Fitzgerald – Video Analyst
Lucy Soden – Team Doctor
Ulrik McCarthy – Physio
Dom Hoban – Physio
Nora Ni Fhlannagain – Nutritionist
Carmel O’Dwyer – Squad Co-ordinator
Maria Boland – Media Officer

IRELAND WOMEN’S 2015 RBS 6 Nations Fixtures/Results:

Friday, February 6: Italy 5 Ireland 30, Stadio Mario Lodigiani, Florence

Friday, February 13: Ireland 5 France 10, Ashbourne RFC

Friday, February 27: Ireland v England, Ashbourne RFC, 7.30pm (Tickets: €;10 adults/€;5 for OAPs/students/children) (Stream: www.IrishRugby.ie)

Sunday, March 15: Wales v Ireland, St. Helen’s, Swansea, 12pm (Tickets: £10 adults/no charge for OAPs/students/children) (Stream: www.S4C.co.uk)

Sunday, March 22: Scotland v Ireland, Broadwood Stadium, Cumbernauld, 1pm (Tickets £5 adults/no charge for OAPs/students/children) (Stream: tbc)