Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland Under-20s Unchanged For England Clash

Ireland Under-20s Unchanged For England Clash

The Ireland Under-20 team, sponsored by PwC, has been named for their third clash of the U-20 RBS 6 Nations Championship. The side will take on their English counterparts at Donnybrook on Friday (kick-off 7.05pm).

Head coach Nigel Carolan has named an unchanged team to the one that overcame France 37-20 in their last outing of the Championship a fortnight ago.

There is one alteration on the replacements bench where Fergal Cleary makes way for Harrison Brewer, who was part of last year’s Ireland Under-20 squad.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“We are in a good place mid-tournament with two wins from two. While the display against France was very pleasing, the English side will bring a huge amount of physicality with them, so we know the challenge we face,” said Carolan.

“If we can match them in the physical department, we hope to reproduce a similar performance like we did two weeks ago. The squad have worked very hard in training and are relishing the opportunity to play on a fast pitch at Donnybrook in front of a vocal home crowd.”
Tickets for this game, which will be broadcast live on RTÉ 2 and Sky Sports 3 HD, are available from www.ticketmaster.ie or at the gate on the evening. Prices start at €;15 for adults and €;5 for children.

IRELAND UNDER-20 Team & Replacements (v England Under-20s, 2015 Under-20 RBS 6 Nations, Donnybrook, Friday, February 27, kick-off 7.05pm):
15. Billy Dardis (UCD/Leinster)
14. Jack Owens (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)
12. Sam Arnold (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
11. Stephen Fitzgerald (Shannon/Munster)
10. Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
9. Nick McCarthy (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
1. Jeremy Loughman (UCD/Leinster)
2. Zack McCall (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
3. Oisin Heffernan (Terenure College/Leinster)
4. David O’Connor (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
5. Alex Thompson (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
6. Josh Murphy (UCD/Leinster)
7. Rory Moloney (Buccaneers/Connacht)
8. Lorcan Dow (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)

16. Adam McBurney (Ballymena/Ulster)
17. Michael Lagan (Ballymena/Ulster)
18. Conan O’Donnell (Sligo/NUIG/Connacht)
19. Cian Romaine (Buccaneers/Connacht)
20. Nick Timoney (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
21. Jack Cullen (Shannon/Munster)
22. Joey Carbery (UCD/Leinster)
23. Harrison Brewer (Terenure College/Leinster)

IRELAND UNDER-20 Management Team –

Nigel Carolan – Head Coach
Colin McEntee – Assistant Coach/High Performance Manager
John Fogarty – Assistant Coach/Scrum Coach
Steven Aboud – Assistant Coach/Head of Technical Direction
Hendrik Kruger – Team Manager
Sinéad Bennett – Squad Co-ordinator
Garrett Coughlan – Physio
Will Duggan – Doctor
Eamonn Flanagan – Strength and Conditioning Coach
Lar Hogan – Baggage Master
Gareth Rossi – Massage Therapist
Jim Herring – Performance Analyst
Maria Boland – Media Officer

IRELAND UNDER-20s’ 2015 RBS 6 Nations Fixtures/Results:

Friday, February 6: Italy U-20s 15 Ireland U-20s 47, Stadio Pozzi Lamarmora, Biella
Friday, February 13: Ireland U-20s 37 France U-20s 20, Dubarry Park
Friday, February 27: Ireland U-20s v England U-20s, Donnybrook, 7.05pm
Friday, March 13: Wales U-20s v Ireland U-20s, Parc Eirias, Colwyn Bay, 7.45pm
Friday, March 20: Scotland U-20s v Ireland U-20s, Netherdale, Galashiels, 7.30pm