Jump to main content


Four Changes For Women’s Historic Aviva Clash

Four Changes For Women’s Historic Aviva Clash

Ireland Women’s head coach Philip Doyle has made three personnel changes and one positional switch to the team that ran out at Twickenham last time out.

The reigning Women’s Six Nations champions make their debut at the Aviva Stadium this coming Saturday (kick-off 5pm).

In the backs, experienced centre Grace Davitt comes in for Jenny Murphy and Amy Davis replaces Larissa Muldoon at scrum half.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Both Murphy and Muldoon are listed among the replacements, while Davitt will be winning her 50th cap for Ireland.

In the forwards, Gillian Bourke switches from hooker to tighthead prop with Stacey-Lea Kennedy donning the number 2 jersey and Ailis Egan dropping to the bench.

The only other change to the matchday squad sees Paula Fitzpatrick replace Laura Guest among the replacements.

Ireland Women’s head coach Philip Doyle said: “The team put in a strong performance against England at Twickenham and we are very much still in the hunt for the Championship.

“Italy pushed us all the way last year in the final game of the tournament, so we will not be taking them lightly and will need to put in a clinical performance to ensure that we secure victory in our first outing at the Aviva Stadium.”

The Ireland Women’s team will play their first ever fixture at the Aviva Stadium when they take on Italy in round 4 of the Championship.

The historic encounter will kick-off following Ireland’s RBS 6 Nations clash with the Azzurri. Tickets for the Women’s match are available through Ticketmaster.ie and are priced €;10 for adults and €;5 for children.

IRELAND WOMEN’S Team & Replacements (v Italy Women, 2014 Women’s RBS 6 Nations Championship, Aviva Stadium, Saturday, March 8, kick-off 5pm):

Player/Club/Province/Caps –

15. Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster) 39
14. Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) 11
13. Lynne Cantwell (Richmond/Exile) 81
12. Grace Davitt (Cooke/Ulster) 49
11. Alison Miller (Portlaoise/UCC/Connacht) 17
10. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 21
9. Amy Davis (Blackrock/Ulster) 34
1. Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster) (capt) 78
2. Stacey-Lea Kennedy (Cooke/Ulster) 11
3. Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemians/Munster) 39
4. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 13
5. Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 28
6. Siobhan Fleming (Tralee/Munster) 13
7. Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht) 29
8. Heather O’Brien (Highfield/Munster) 12


16. Ailis Egan (Old Belveder/Leinster) 15
17. Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians/Munster) 4
18. Kerrie-Ann Craddock (Saracens/Exile) 2
19. Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s/Leinster) 4
20. Larissa Muldoon (Bristol/Exile) 18
21. Hannah Casey (Saracens/Exiles) 3
22. Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 11
23. Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Exile) 10


IRELAND WOMEN 59 Scotland Women 0
Asbourne RFC
Friday, January 31

IRELAND WOMEN 14 Wales Women 6
Ashbourne RFC
Friday, February 7

England Women 17 IRELAND WOMEN 10
Saturday, February 22

Aviva Stadium, 5pm
Saturday, March 8

France Women v IRELAND WOMEN
Stade du Hameau, Pau, 6.45pm local time/5.45pm Irish time
Friday, March 14