Jump to main content


Brazil Beckons For Ireland Women’s Sevens

Brazil Beckons For Ireland Women’s Sevens

The Ireland Women’s Sevens squad are one of eight core teams on an expanded IRB Women’s Sevens World Series schedule for this season with Brazil’s São Paulo included for the first time.

The International Rugby Board has announced the inclusion of São Paulo as a host city of an expanded IRB Women’s Sevens World Series for 2013/14.

The new series aims to capitalise on a stellar debut season with rounds across the globe, kicking off with Dubai (November 28-30), then Atlanta (February 15-16), São Paulo (February 21-22), Guangzhao (April 4-6) and Amsterdam (May 16-17).

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The IRB will confirm the destination of the sixth leg in due course, following strong interest from member Unions in hosting a round of the showcase series.

Ireland qualified as one of the core teams by finishing in the top eight at the Rugby World Cup Sevens in Moscow in June.

Speaking about qualification at the time, head coach Jon Skurr said: “We have so much potential. We have got a long route ahead of us and we have learned a lot of lessons.

“We’re confident that we will get better. I want to thank the girls who are not here as well and the contribution they gave all season long.”

IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset commented: “This announcement caps a great year for Women’s Sevens and follows an outstanding and highly competitive Rugby World Cup Sevens in Moscow and a strong inaugural IRB Women’s Sevens World Series.

“The appetite for hosting our marquee women’s events has never been higher and the inclusion of São Paulo in an expanded IRB Women’s Sevens World Series reflects the incredible growth of the women’s rame globally as well as tremendous excitement in Brazil about the addition of Rugby Sevens to the Rio 2016 programme.”

The expansion of the WSWS also underscores the IRB’s commitment to grow rugby in emerging markets and the São Paulo leg will complement successful mass participation programmes run by the Brazilian Union ahead of the 2016 Olympic Games, where Rugby Sevens will make its debut.


First Leg: Dubai, United Arab Emirates, November 28-30, 2013

Second Leg: Atlanta, Georgia, USA, February 15-16, 2014

Third Leg: Arena Barueri, São Paulo, Brazil, February 21-22, 2014

Fourth Leg: Guangzhao University Town Stadium, Guangzhao, China, April 4-6, 2014

Fifth Leg: National Rugby Centrum, Amsterdam, Netherlands. May 16-17, 2014

Final Leg: To be confirmed

Related Links –

IRB Women’s Sevens World Series

Give It A Try