Jump to main content


Women’s Squad Named For London Sevens

Women’s Squad Named For London Sevens

A 12-strong Ireland Women’s Sevens squad has been named for the London Invitational Sevens which will be streamed live this weekend.

Fresh from a warm weather training camp in Portugal last weekend, the Ireland Women’s Sevens squad will take part in the London Invitational Sevens.

With the Rugby World Cup Sevens just around the corner, this tournament carries extra significance and hosts England, reigning World Champions Australia, France, Spain, the USA, Canada, Russia and Ireland will all be competing for glory as they share the stage with the final round of the men’s HSBC World Series.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The squad will be hoping to gain more experience and add to their silverware haul that they picked up in Hong Kong and China.

Ireland open their tournament against Canada on Saturday morning at 11.34am. They then face the USA in the afternoon and Russia in the final pool game later that day.

All 19 games will be streamed live on www.RFU.com as well as match updates on the RFU’s Twitter page @Official_RFU.

To view the stream on RFU.com, please visit: www.rfu.com/womens7slive.

IRELAND WOMEN’S SEVENS Squad (London Invitational Sevens, Cardinal Vaughan Stadium, May 11-12):

Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Claire Molloy (Bristol/Exile) (capt)
Niamg Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Jeannette Feighery (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Claire Keohane (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Lynne Cantwell (Richmond/Exile)
Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht)
Shannon Houston (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Amy Davis (Blackrock College/Ulster)
Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Ashling Hutchings (UL Bohemians/Munster)