Jump to main content


Four Changes For Ulster

Four Changes For Ulster

Ulster head coach Mark Anscombe has made four changes and one positional switch to the team for Friday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 semi-final against the Scarlets at Ravenhill (kick-off 7.45pm).

Ireland internationals Paddy Jackson, Tom Court, Declan Fitzpatrick and Dan Tuohy all return to the side, while Ruan Pienaar switches from out-half to scrum half.

Paul Marshall, Callum Black and Iain Henderson, who all started last weekend against Cardiff Blues, are named as replacements for the play-off.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Tighthead prop John Afoa was unavailable for selection, having failed to recover from the hamstring injury that he sustained in the runaway win over Cardiff.

Ulster finished top of the RaboDirect PRO12 table and qualified for a play-off for the first time in two years.

Mark Anscombe’s side will play the Scarlets for a place in the May 25 final. The Welsh region finished fourth in the league and will make their first appearance in the play-offs tomorrow night.

The game will mark the end of an era at Ravenhill as Ulster fans bid farewell to the ground’s historic grandstand.

It opened on January 12, 1924 and has witnessed almost 90 years of Ulster rugby. Demolition work will begin on the stand next week as part the ongoing £14.7 million redevelopment of the ground.

Tickets for the Ulster v Scarlets match are still available to buy and can be purchased here.

ULSTER (v Scarlets): Jared Payne; Andrew Trimble, Darren Cave, Stuart Olding, Tommy Bowe; Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar; Tom Court, Rory Best, Declan Fitzpatrick, Johann Muller (capt), Dan Tuohy, Robbie Diack, Chris Henry, Nick Williams.

Replacements: Rob Herring, Callum Black, Ricky Lutton, Iain Henderson, Mike McComish, Paul Marshall, Michael Allen, Peter Nelson.