Jump to main content


Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad For Hong Kong

Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad For Hong Kong

Fresh from the success of the 15-a-side team winning the RBS 6 Nations Championship and Grand Slam, the Ireland Women’s Sevens squad will be in action over the next two weekends in the Hong Kong and Guangzhou Women’s Sevens tournaments.

The two tournaments are part of the Women’s Sevens preparations for the Rugby World Cup Sevens in Moscow this June.

The squad will be captained in Hong Kong by Jeannette Feighery and includes seven players who were involved in the RBS 6 Nations Championship success last weekend in Milan.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Claire Molloy, who completes her medical exams this week, will join up the squad for the Guangzhou Women’s Sevens in China to replace Christine Arthurs.

Ireland have been placed in Pool B and will kick off their tournament at 8.20am tomorrow morning against South Africa, followed by a game against France at 9.40am.

The Ireland team will then be placed into play-off competitions for either the Hong Kong Bowl, Plate or Cup depending on their results.

The play-off games take place in the afternoon, with the overall tournament cup final scheduled for 7.40pm in Hong Kong Stadium.

IRELAND WOMEN’S SEVENS Squad (2013 Hong Kong Sevens, Friday, March 22):

Christine Arthurs (Tralee/Connacht)
Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) *
Lynne Cantwell (Richmond/Exile) *
Amy Davis (Blackrock College/Ulster) *
Jeannette Feighery (UL Bohemians/Munster) (capt)
Ashling Hutchings (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians/Munster) *
Claire Keohane (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht) *
Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
Sophie Spence (Mowden Sharks/Exile) *
Carol Staunton (Galwegians/Connacht)

* Players involved in RBS 6 Nations Championship

For a full schedule of the games in the Hong Kong tournament, click here.