Jump to main content


Ireland U-18 Schools Squad Named For European Championship

Ireland U-18 Schools Squad Named For European Championship

A 26-strong Ireland Under-18 Schools squad, sponsored by PwC, has been announced to participate in the FIRA/AER Under-18 European Championship which takes place in Grenoble, France from March 22-30.

The Ireland Under-18 teams that have competed in the tournament over the last number of years have a proud record in the competition, being finalists over the previous three seasons in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

The 2011 side were crowned as European champions for the first time after beating England in the final and included current professional players Stuart Olding and Robbie Henshaw, who recently played for the O2 Ireland Wolfhounds.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

This year’s squad is dominated by players from the top teams who reached the latter stages of their provincial Schools Cup competitions.

Ulster champions Methodist College Belfast and Leinster winners Blackrock College supply eight players to the squad, with Leinster schools providing 20 players in total.

Ireland will take on Georgia in the opening game this coming Friday at 7pm.

IRELAND UNDER-18 SCHOOLS Squad (2013 FIRA/AER Justin Bridou U-18 European Championship):

Backs (12):

Nick McCarthy (St. Michael’s College)
Charlie Rock (Blackrock College)
Ross Byrne (St. Michael’s College)
Ciaran Gaffney (CC Roscrea)
Matthew Gilsenan (St. Michael’s College)
Greg O’Shea (Crescent Comprehensive)
Fergal Cleary (Clongowes Wood College)
Harrison Brewer (Terenure College)
Michael Courtney (CBC Monkstown)
Cormac Brennan (CC Roscrea)
Billy Dardis (Terenure College)
Jack Owens (Campbell College)

Forwards (14):

Oisin Heffernan (CC Roscrea)
Michael Lagan (Methodist College)
Sean McNulty (Rockwell College)
Andrew Roche (Terenure College)
Oliver Jager (Blackrock College)
Jeremy Loughman (Blackrock College)
David O’Connor (Blackrock College)
Alexander Thompson (Methodist College)
James Ryan (St. Michael’s College)
Joshua Murphy (St. Michael’s College)
Rory Moloney (CC Roscrea)
Patrick Thornton (Terenure College)
Nick Timoney (Blackrock College)
James Gallagher (Methodist College)


Head Coach – Noel McNamara
Manager – John McKinney
Backs Coach – Mark Butler
Forwards Coach – Brian Robinson
Baggage Master – John Moran
Doctor – Prof. John Ryan
Video Analyst – Brett Igoe
Physiotherapist – David Lyons
Strength & Conditioning Coach – Chris Shields

Opening Fixture –

Friday, March, 22, kick-off 7pm local time
Ireland v Georgia, Moirans, approx. 20 kilometres from Grenoble town centre

For further information on the match schedule, please visit: www.fira-aer-rugby.com/competition-57.