Jump to main content



Ireland Team To Play Wales

Ireland Team To Play Wales

The Ireland team to play Wales in the opening game of the RBS 6 Nations Championship next Saturday at the Millennium Stadium has been named.

In the back-line, Gordon D’Arcy and Brian O’Driscoll will partner each other in the centre for a world record 49th time at international level.

Rob Kearney returns to international rugby and starts at full-back to win his 42nd cap with Simon Zebo and Craig Gilroy named on the wings.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Second rows Mike McCarthy and Donnacha Ryan will start a Championship match together for the first time, with McCarthy making his first Six Nations start having featured as a replacement last season.

Sean O’Brien returns to the starting team after missing the November internationals in a back row that includes Peter O’Mahony and Jamie Heaslip, who will captain Ireland in the RBS 6 Nations Championship for the first time.

IRELAND Team & Replacements (v Wales, 2013 RBS 6 Nations Championship, Millennium Stadium, Saturday, February 2, kick-off 1.30pm):

Club/Province/international Caps –

15 – Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster/41)
14 – Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster/1)
13 – Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster/120)
12 – Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster/71)
11 – Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster/3)
10 – Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster/34)
9 – Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster/14)
1 – Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster/35)
2 – Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster/62)
3 – Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster/24)
4 – Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers/Connacht/6)
5 – Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster/23)
6 – Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster/9)
7 – Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster/22)
8 – Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster/52) (capt)


16 – Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster/23)
17 – David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster/2)
18 – Declan Fitzpatrick (Dungannon/Ulster/2)
19 – Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster/91)
20 – Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster/4)
21 – Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster/47)
22 – Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster/126)
23 – Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster/34)