Jump to main content


PWC logo

Plenty Of Newcomers In Ireland U-20 Squad

Plenty Of Newcomers In Ireland U-20 Squad

Ireland Under-20 head coach Mike Ruddock has announced a provisional 23-man squad for this Friday’s RBS Under-20 6 Nations Championship opener away to Wales.

The selected Ireland Under-20 squad has a new look with only three players previously capped at this level – scrum half Luke McGrath, out-half Stuart Olding and back rower Josh van der Flier.

The Championship opener between Wales and Ireland takes place at Parc Eirias in Colwyn Bay on Friday night (kick-off 7.10pm). Match tickets are available here and there will be live TV coverage on RTÉ Two.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Irish starting line-up and replacements will be announced later this week.

IRELAND UNDER-20 Squad (v Wales Under-20s, 2013 RBS Under-20 6 Nations Championship):

John Andrew (Ballymena/Ulster)
Jake Caulfield (Malone/Ulster)
John Creighton (Malone /Ulster)
Steve Crosbie (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Thomas Daly (Lansdowne/Leinster)
John Donnan (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Peter Dooley (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Conor Joyce (Malone/Ulster)
Sean McCarthy (Shannon/Munster)
Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)
George McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons/Exiles)
Ryan Murphy (Dolphin/Munster)
Stuart Olding (Belfast Harlequins /Ulster)
Alexander O’Meara (Hartpury/Exiles)
David Panter (Corinthians/Connacht)
Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster)
Rory Scholes (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Brian Scott (UCC/Munster)
Darren Sweetnam (UCC/Munster)
Christopher Taylor (Malone/Ulster)
Gavin Thornbury (UCD/Leinster)
Peadar Timmins (UCD/Leinster)
Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)


Friday, February 1, 7.10pm – Wales U-20s v Ireland U-20s, Parc Eirias
Friday, February 8, 7.35pm – Ireland U-20s v England U-20s, Dubarry Park
Friday, February 22, 7.30pm – Scotland U-20s v Ireland U-20s, Netherdale
Friday, March 8, 7.45pm – Ireland U-20s v France U-20s, Dubarry Park
Friday, March 15, 7pm local time/6pm Irish time – Italy U-20s v Ireland U-20s, Stadio del Marsi