Jump to main content



Ireland XV Named For Fiji Game

Ireland XV Named For Fiji Game

The Ireland XV to play Fiji at Thomond Park in Saturday’s non-cap international has been named. There are three uncapped players included in the starting line-up alongside a number of new faces from the GUINNESS Series squad.

Mike Ross, Conor Murray and newly-appointed captain Jamie Heaslip have been retained from the Ireland team that started against South Africa last weekend.

Former Ireland Under-20 international Paddy Jackson will partner Murray at half-back with his Ulster colleagues Luke Marshall and Darren Cave forming the centre partnership outside him.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The back-three comprises of the uncapped Craig Gilroy on the left wing with Fergus McFadden on the right and Denis Hurley at full-back.

David Kilcoyne, who won his first cap last weekend, will pack down alongside Sean Cronin and Ross in the front row, while Dan Tuohy and the 89-times capped Donncha O’Callaghan will link up in the second row.

Heaslip anchors the scrum with Iain Henderson, a debutant as a replacement against the Springboks, and John Muldoon taking the blindside and openside flanker berths respectively.

Match tickets are available to buy online here. Further details on ticket availability and the special ‘Kids Go Free’ packages can be found by clicking here.

There will be Park & Ride facilities in operation for the Ireland XV v Fiji match on Saturday, at the following locations:

– Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, starting from 2.30pm

– Radisson Hotel, Ennis Road, starting from 3.30pm

– South Court Hotel, Raheen, starting from 3.30pm

– Woodlands Hotel, Adare, starting at 4.30pm

There will also be a Public Bus Service running from Henry Street in Limerick city centre, starting at 3.30pm.

IRELAND XV Team & Replacements (v Fiji, 2012 GUINNESS Series, Thomond Park, Saturday, November 17, kick-off 5.30pm):

15 – Denis Hurley (Dolphin/Munster/1 cap)
14 – Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster/15)
13 – Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster/3)
12 – Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster) *
11 – Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster) *
10 – Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) *
9 – Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster/13)
1 – David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster/1)
2 – Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster/22)
3 – Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster/23)
4 – Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster/89)
5 – Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster/5)
6 – Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster/1)
7 – John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht/3)
8 – Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster/51) (capt)


16 – Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster/1)
17 – Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster/34)
18 – Michael Bent (Leinster/1)
19 – Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster/23)
20 – Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster/3)
21 – Paul Marshall (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) *
22 – Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster/33)
23 – Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster/2)

* Denotes uncapped player