Jump to main content


Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad For Amsterdam

Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad For Amsterdam

A 13-woman squad has been named for the Amsterdam Sevens tournament this weekend as preparations continue for the Women’s Sevens squad in their bid to qualify for the IRB Rugby World Cup Sevens in 2013.

Ireland coach Jon Skurr has named a 13-strong squad for the trip to the Netherlands that includes a mix of seasoned internationals from the Six Nations squad – Lynne Cantwell, Joy Neville and Amy Davis alongside some newer faces such as Ashleigh Baxter and Claire Keohane -( interview on youtube) .

The Amsterdam 7s is not a full international tournament so the team will play under the name ‘Irish Lightning’.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Speaking at their training camp in the Aviva Stadium last weekend, Skurr said: “We are five weeks in to the programme and it was great to go undefeated at Kinsale. Amsterdam is a step up and a real chance for us and the girls to measure themselves against their peers in Europe.”

The players face a demanding schedule in the coming weeks as they to travel to London for another warm-up tournament before debuting in Ghent in the FIRA Qualifying tournament where they need to finish in the top two to progress.

Skurr added: “It is a tough programme but the girls have really bought into it. By the end of the process we will know where we stand and we can see what the pool of players is like.”

IRELAND WOMEN’S SEVENS Squad (2012 Amsterdam 7s):

Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Lynne Cantwell (Richmond/Exiles)
Nikki Caughey (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Amy Davis (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Jeannette Feighery (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Shannon Houston (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Ashling Hutchings (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Claire Keohane (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht)
Claire Molloy (Bristol/Exiles)
Joy Neville (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Laura O’Mahony (Tralee/Munster)
Sophie Spence (Howden Park Sharks/Exiles)

Related Links –

Jon Skurr – Ireland Women’s Sevens Programme 

Irish Rugby TV: Claire Keohane

Winning Start For Women’s Sevens Squad