Jump to main content


Trinity Retain All-Ireland Club Sevens Title

Trinity Retain All-Ireland Club Sevens Title

Dublin University have retained the IRFU Club Sevens title, winning at Dubarry Park last Saturday on a day when Blackrock College RFC won the Women’s tournament.

During a busy day at Buccaneers RFC’s home ground, the Men’s and Women’s senior titles were decided following a number of hard fought rounds, in the most competitive Club Sevens day yet. In Trinity’s final vs Malone, the lead went from 7-5 to 7-12 to 14-12 in second half.  In addition to Trinity’s and ‘Rock’s wins, the Women’s junior title was won by Tralee RFC.

Each Irish province was represented by clubs keen to not only win the esteemed perpetual trophy but also the chance to represent the rest in the Netherlands at the coming weekend’s Amsterdam Sevens. In the true spirit of rugby, Trinity being unable to travel to Amsterdam, have handed their fellow finalists, Malone RFC, the opportunity to do Irish clubs proud and travel in their place.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the Men’s Plate competition, it was spoils for the hosts as Buccaneers RFC defeated Garryowen FC in a very tight match, 12-5.

Tralee‘s Women having won their competition will make their way to the Aviva Stadium this November as the IRFU’s VIP guests when Ireland host Argentina, attending the official pre-match lunch, match itself and the post-match team reception afterwards.

Congratulations to all and many thanks for making this year’s IRFU All-Ireland Club Sevens a most memorable event. Many thanks also to hosts, Buccaneers RFC for their hospitality and last but most certainly not least, the quality referees who dedicated their time to officiating games throughout the day.

Results from Playoffs as follows:-

Women’s Division 2/3 Final
Tralee RFC 29
Sligo RFC 0

Women’s Division 1 Final
UL Bohemians RFC 7
Blackrock College RFC 14

Men’s Plate Final
Garryowen FC 5
Buccaneers RFC 12

Men’s Senior Semi-Finals
Clontarf RFC 17
Malone RFC 28

Dublin University 24
City of Derry RFC 14

Men’s Senior Cup Final
Dublin University 14
Malone RFC 12