Jump to main content



Fans Vote Bowe Player Of The Championship

Fans Vote Bowe Player Of The Championship

Ireland’s flying winger Tommy Bowe has been announced as the 2010 RBS 6 Nations Player of the Championship, following in the footsteps of team captain Brian O’Driscoll, a three-time winner of the award.

Tommy Bowe ensured that the RBS 6 Nations Player of the Championship award stayed in Ireland with over 50% of the votes going his way. When Irish captain Brian O’Driscoll won last year, he received nearly 30% of the votes cast.

The remaining votes were dominated by RBS 6 Nations champions France with Imanol Harinordoquy receiving 20.9% and Morgan Parra with 11.5% of the votes.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

On receiving the trophy, Bowe commented: “It has been a Championship of mixed emotions for the Irish team but to be named the Player of the Championship is a fantastic way to end what has been an exciting year for the RBS 6 Nations.

“The tournament is always enjoyable and fantastic for rugby fans across Europe with some sensational, competitive rugby produced year after year.

“To be voted Player of the Championship by the fans is a huge compliment and I thank them for taking the time to vote.”

The 2010 RBS 6 Nations Player of the Championship was decided as a result of a public vote, hosted on www.rbs6nations.com.

A panel of former internationals from all six nations submitted their top three nominations, from which the shortlist of six nominees was compiled.

Panellists included BBC Sport pundits Keith Wood, Raphael Ibanez and Jonathan Davies, RBS RugbyForce supporters Andy Nicol, Ieuan Evans and Jason Leonard, as well as former RBS Ambassador Alessandro Moscardi.


2009 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)
2008 – Shane Williams (Wales)
2007 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)
2006 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)