Jump to main content


Limerick Derby Goes Garryowen’s Way

Limerick Derby Goes Garryowen’s Way

There was no pre-Christmas cheer for UL Bohemians at a sparsely attended Thomond Park on Saturday night when these two local rivals failed to produce a contest to match the drama of 24 hours earlier when Munster sneaked past Perpignan.

AIB LEAGUE: DIVISION 1A: Saturday, December 12


Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scorers: UL Bohemians: Try: Ed Torrie
Garryowen: Pens: Willie Staunton, Conor Murray; Drop: Willie Staunton

UL Bohs went into the game on the back of two successive wins, while Garryowen had not won since their opening game of the campaign when they beat Shannon also under floodlights.

Garryowen were well on top in the opening half but failed to transfer that dominance onto the scoreboard, only leading 6-0 at the end of a half which saw neither side create any try-scoring opportunities.

A penalty by young scrum half Conor Murray edged Garryowen in front but they had to wait until the 38th minute to extend their advantage when out-half Willie Staunton dropped a goal.

UL Bohs created a last-gasp chance but right winger Martin McPhail was called back for a forward pass.

In what was by far the best three-quarters move of the game, McPhail came in off his wing after 55 minutes, made ground and then timed his pass to perfection to Ed Torrie and the flying full-back dotted down in the corner to leave only a point between them.

But Garryowen had the final say when Staunton landed a penalty to give his side a crucial win in what was a bottom of the table clash.

UL BOHEMIANS: Ed Torrie; Martin McPhail, Danny Riordan, Dan Kelly, Dave Moloney; Fergal Lawlor, Paul Rowley; Dave Kilcoyne, Sean Henry (capt), Pat O’Regan, Ed Kelly, Dave Foley, Kieran O’Gorman, Tommy O’Donnell, Kieran Essex.

Replacements: Eddie Rossiter, Mike Storey, Kevin Bracken, John Ed O’Connor, Giles Boland.

GARRYOWEN: Ronan O’Mahony; Ian Hanly, Conan Doyle (capt), Kevin Hartigan, Lorcan Bourke; Willie Staunton, Conor Murray; Jason Harney, Michael Sherry, Declan Lavery, Frank McKenna, Ed Mackey, Paul Neville, Conor Hartigan, David Sherry.

Replacements: Robert Meyer, JP Cooney, Aaron McCloskey, Anthony Kavanagh, Alan Gaughan.

Referee: Peter Roche (IRFU)