Jump to main content


Fogarty Called Back Into Ireland Camp

Fogarty Called Back Into Ireland Camp

Ireland ‘A’ hooker John Fogarty has been recalled to the Ireland camp and will not play in tonight’s ‘A’ game against Tonga at Ravenhill (kick-off 7pm).

Jerry Flannery trained today at the Ireland squad session at the RDS, but John Fogarty has been called in as precautionary cover ahead of Sunday’s GUINNESS Series Test against Australia.

This means that his younger brother Denis Fogarty will start for Ireland ‘A’ against Tonga tonight as a result.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ulster hooker Andy Kyriacou has been called up to the Ireland ‘A’ replacements for the game and could make his debut at this level.

“We’ve pulled John Fogarty out of the ‘A’ team to join us, as a precautionary measure,” explained Ireland team manager Paul McNaughton.

“Jerry (Flannery) trained this morning (Friday), we expect him to play but just as a precaution we’ve taken John out of the ‘A’ team.

“Jerry got through most of the session today. It’s a precautionary measure, his calf was just feeling tight.”

Tickets for the Ireland ‘A’ v Tonga clash will be available to purchase at the turnstiles. They are priced at £20 (adults) and £10 (juniors) for the stands, and £15 (adults) and £10 (juniors) for ground admission. Gates open at 5.30pm.

IRELAND ‘A’ TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Tonga, ‘A’ International, Ravenhill, Friday, November 13, kick-off 7pm):

15. Gavin Duffy (Galwegians/Connacht)
14. Shane Horgan (Boyne/Leinster) (capt)
13. Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
12. Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
11. Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
10. Ian Humphreys (Ballymena/Ulster)
9. Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster)
1. Brett Wilkinson (Galwegians/Connacht)
2. Denis Fogarty (Cork Constitution/Munster)
3. Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
4. Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
5. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
6. Neil Best (Northampton Saints)
7. Sean O’Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)
8. Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster)


16. Andy Kyriacou (Malone/Ulster)
17. Bryan Young (Ballymena/Ulster)
18. Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)
19. Kevin McLaughlin (UCD/Leinster)
20. Isaac Boss (Ballymena/Ulster)
21. Ian Keatley (Galwegians/Connacht)
22. Johne Murphy (Leicester Tigers)