Jump to main content


Build-Up To The AIB Club International

Build-Up To The AIB Club International

In the build-up to the AIB Club International at Donnybrook on Friday, Ireland captain Brian O’Driscoll is lending his support to his counterpart Hugh Hogan, captain of the Ireland Club team.

Ireland captain Brian O’Driscoll was on hand yesterday to lend his support to Hugh Hogan, captain of the Ireland Club side, as they prepare to take on the England Counties in the AIB Club International at Donnybrook on Friday evening.

Brian and Hugh were joined by Maurice Crowley, General Manager of AIB, as he added his support to the team in the build-up to the game.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The AIB Club International has proved to be very popular with fans and players in recent seasons and the games have been a great advert for Irish club rugby.

Last season, the Ireland Club XV beat their Scottish counterparts by 20-15 in a thoroughly enjoyable game.

In 2007 Ireland beat the England Counties outfit 20-17 in the first ever AIB Club International clash.

Friday’s game kicks of at 5pm at Donnybrook. Tickets cost 10 euro (5 euro for schoolboys and schoolgirls) and you can pay at the gate.

With five Leinster players in the side, including St. Mary’s College back rower Hugh Hogan as captain, club members will be out in force to support their fellow players.

There is one later change to squad as Killian Lett of UCD has withdrawn from the replacements due to injury. His place will be taken by Clontarf winger Niall O’Brien.

IRELAND AIB CLUB INTERNATIONAL TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v England Counties XV, Donnybrook, Friday, February 27, kick-off 5pm):

15 – Ed Torrie (UL Bohemians)
14 – Cronan Healy (Cork Constitution)*
13 – Darragh Fitzpatrick (Blackrock College)
12 – Philip Brophy (St. Mary’s College)
11 – Derek Corcoran (Young Munster)
10 – Barry Keeshan (Dolphin)*
9 – Ruairi Cushion (Old Belvedere)*
1 – Martin Gately (Highfield)*
2 – Brett McNamee (Dungannon)
3 – Kevin Moran (Buccaneers)
4 – Alan Maher (Lansdowne)*
5 – Marc Warburton (Old Wesley)
6 – Kevin Croke (UCD)
7 – Barry O’Mahony (Dolphin)
8 – Hugh Hogan (St. Mary’s College)* (capt)


16 – Robert Quinn (Lansdowne)
17 – Colum Murphy (Lansdowne)
18 – Alex Dunlop (Terenure College)
19 – Ron Boucher  (Lansdowne)
20 – Sam Cronin (UCC)*
21 – Niall O’Brien (Clontarf)*
22 – Tadhg Bennett (Shannon)

* Denotes previous capped players at this level