Jump to main content


Head-To-Head: Ireland v New Zealand

Head-To-Head: Ireland v New Zealand

Saturday’s clash between New Zealand and Ireland is the 21st meeting between these proud rugby nations. Ireland have never beaten the All Blacks – 1973’s 10-10 draw is their best result in the series – so can Brian O’Driscoll and company create history at the ‘Cake Tin’?


NEW ZEALAND v IRELAND, Westpac Stadium, Wellington, kick-off 7.35pm local time/8.35am Irish time (live Sky Sports 1/RTE Radio LW252/Digital/Radio 1 Extra Stream)

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

NEW ZEALAND: Mils Muliaina; Anthony Tuitavake, Conrad Smith, Ma’a Nonu, Sitiveni Sivivatu; Dan Carter, Andy Ellis; Neemia Tialata, Andrew Hore, John Afoa, Brad Thorn, Ali Williams, Rodney So’oialo, Richie McCaw (capt), Jerome Kaino.

Replacements: Keven Mealamu, John Schwalger, Anthony Boric, Adam Thomson, Jimmy Cowan, Stephen Donald, Leon MacDonald.

IRELAND: Rob Kearney; Shane Horgan, Brian O’Driscoll (capt), Paddy Wallace, Tommy Bowe; Ronan O’Gara, Eoin Reddan; Marcus Horan, Jerry Flannery, John Hayes, Donncha O’Callaghan, Paul O’Connell, Denis Leamy, David Wallace, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements: Rory Best, Tony Buckley, Mick O’Driscoll, Shane Jennings, Peter Stringer, Geordan Murphy, Girvan Dempsey.

Referee: Chris White (England)

Previous Meetings: 20
New Zealand Won: 19; Ireland Won: 0; Drawn: 1
First Match: New Zealand 15 Ireland 0, Dublin, November 15, 1905
Last Match: New Zealand 27 Ireland 17, Auckland, June 17, 2006

Last Five Meetings: 2002 – New Zealand 15 Ireland 6, Dunedin; New Zealand 40 Ireland 8, Auckland; 2005 – Ireland 7 New Zealand 45, Dublin; 2006 – New Zealand 34 Ireland 23, Hamilton; New Zealand 27 Ireland 17, Auckland

Recent Form: New Zealand – Won 76-14 v Italy (RWC); Won 108-13 v Portugal (RWC); Won 40-0 v Scotland (RWC); Won 85-8 v Romania (RWC); Lost 20-18 v France (RWC quarter-final)
Ireland – Won 16-11 v Italy (6N); Lost 26-21 v France (6N); Won 34-13 v Scotland (6N); Lost 16-12 v Wales (6N); Lost 33-10 v England (6N)

Biggest Winning Margin: New Zealand 53 points (59-6, Wellington, 1992)
Longest Winning Streak: 14 matches (1974 to 2006)

Best Ireland Result: 10-10, Dublin, 1973
Total Test Points: New Zealand 517; Ireland 199

Highest Score: New Zealand: 63 in 1997; Ireland: 29 in 2001
Biggest Margin: New Zealand: 53 in 1992; Ireland: 0 in 1973
Most Tries: New Zealand: 11 in 1992; Ireland: 3 in 2001

Leading Points Scorers (In Current Squad): New Zealand – Dan Carter 676 points; Ireland – Ronan O’Gara 827 points

Leading Try Scorers (In Current Squad): New Zealand – Dan Carter, Sitiveni Sivivatu 21 each, Mils Muliaina 16; Ireland – Brian O’Driscoll 31, Shane Horgan 20, Girvan Dempsey 19, Geordan Murphy 18