Jump to main content



Clontarf Win Through To AIB Cup’s Third Round

Clontarf Win Through To AIB Cup’s Third Round

Clontarf won their first AIB Cup game in almost two years as they held off a second half surge from Terenure College in Saturday’s second round encounter at Lakelands Park.

AIB CUP SECOND ROUND: Saturday, October 20


Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scorers: Terenure: Tries: Anthony Ronan, Adam Hughes; Cons: David McAllister 2
Clontarf: Tries: Niall McNamara, Philip Howard, Daragh O’Shea, Derek Keane; Cons: Daragh O’Shea 2; Pen: Daragh O’Shea

Beaten by Dungannon at the quarter-final stage in the cup’s inaugural season and by Shannon in last season’s first round, Clontarf got their 2007/08 run in the competition off to a pleasing start with this four-try 27-14 triumph.

Coached this season by New Zealander Andy Wood, the north Dubliners were 20-0 to the good at half-time against a Terenure side that only came alive in the second half.

Some clinical finishing saw ‘Tarf out-half Niall McNamara, winger Philip Howard and centre Daragh O’Shea all cross for tries in the opening period.

McNamara combined well throughout with the club’s new scrum half Paul O’Donohoe, one of the Ireland Under-20s’ Grand Slam-winning heroes from earlier this year. O’Shea tagged on a conversion and a penalty to put the visitors almost three converted tries in front at the break. Terenure, who reached the AIB Cup quarter-finals in the past two seasons, made inroads into that lead when ‘Tarf captain Simon Crawford was sin-binned.

Hooker Anthony Ronan, a new signing from Suttonians, and winger Adam Hughes both touched down with returning out-half David McAllister, who is back after a stint playing in Italy, converting both efforts.

But restored to their full complement and with Kiwi flanker Chris Elvin impressing on his cup debut, ‘Tarf saw out the victory with winger Derek Keane slicing through for the clinching try which O’Shea converted.

The draw for the third round of the cup will take place before Christmas, with the games down for decision on January 5. The sixteen teams qualified for the third round include reigning cup champions Garryowen, inaugural winners Cork Constitution and Division Three champions Bruff.