Jump to main content


Leinster “A” Take The Spoils In Interpro Opener

Leinster “A” Take The Spoils In Interpro Opener

The Leinster “A” team outscored their Ulster counterparts by three tries to two to win Friday’s Interprovincial opener at Anglesea Road by 22-14. Read on for a full report, match photos and fixture details.


LEINSTER “A” 22 ULSTER “A” 14, Anglesea Road, Old Belvedere RFC

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scorers: Leinster “A”: Tries: Felix Jones, Fergus McFadden, Conor McInerney; Cons: Fergus McFadden 2; Pen: Fergus McFadden
Ulster “A”: Tries: Simon Danielli, Mark Kettyle; Cons: David Humphreys 2

Click Here For Match Photos

Back after missing the season’s start due to an ankle injury, Ulster out-half David Humphreys could do little to inspire his team-mates as a young and enterprising Leinster “A” side deservedly claimed the spoils at the home of Old Belvedere RFC.

The hosts got off to the ideal start when left winger Felix Jones, who was one of the stars for this year’s Ireland Under-20 Grand Slam-winning side, dotted down in the left corner after some neat interplay involving Fionn Carr.

Fergus McFadden converted and the UCD clubman spotted a gap in the Ulster midfield on the quarter-hour, after a jinking run from James Power, to ghost through and pick off a second try for Leinster “A”. McFadden sustained a slight knock in scoring, leaving out-half Power to take over the kicking duties, but his conversion attempt was off target.

Leinster “A” had gotten the start they wanted at 12-0, especially after they lost both captain Sean O’Brien and his back row colleague Kevin McLaughlin to injury before kick-off.

But the visitors, who understandably took their time to gel, picked up the pace for the second quarter and good play from Humphreys and impressive centre Darren Cave led to a try for the province’s Scotland-capped winger Simon Danielli.

Humphreys added the extras and a poor spell for Leinster, during which they lost both Cameron Jowitt and Kevin Sheahan to the sin bin, played into the hands of Ulster “A”. With their opponents down to 13 men, the visitors worked full-back Mark Kettyle over for a 38th-minute which Humphreys converted for a 14-12 interval lead.

However Leinster kept the visitor scoreless for the entire second half as they put in a disciplined and tough-tackling display, with stand-in skipper Richie Leyden and Sheahan particularly effective in the tackle area.

McFadden fired Leinster “A” back in front with a precise penalty just a minute after the resumption and with Ulster tiring, lock Conor McInerney grabbed the match-winning score when he muscled over from close range with McFadden making it a seven-pointer.

This entertaining game, which showcased a number of talented young players at Leinster and Ulster’s disposal, had appetites suitably whetted for the provinces’ Magners League clash at Ravenhill next Friday when a whole host of Irish internationals will return to the fold.

“A” Interprovincials – Fixture List

LEINSTER “A”: Ross McCarron (Lansdowne); Fionn Carr (Blackrock College RFC), Fergus McFadden (UCD), Michael Berne (De La Salle Palmerston), Felix Jones (Seapoint/Old Belvedere (dual status)); James Power (Greystones), Chris Keane (Old Belvedere); Cian Healy (Clontarf), Brian Blaney (Terenure College RFC), Juan Francisco Gomez (-), Devin Toner (Lansdowne), Conor McInerney (St. Mary’s College RFC), Cameron Jowitt (Lansdowne), Richie Leyden (Old Belvedere) (capt), Kevin Sheahan (St. Mary’s College RFC).

Replacements: Richie Sweeney (St. Mary’s College RFC), Paul Doran Jones (Lansdowne), Ruaidhri Murphy (Lansdowne), Gavin O’Meara (Lansdowne), Paul O’Donohoe (Clontarf), Shane Monahan (Blackrock College RFC), Vasily Artemiev (UCD).

ULSTER “A”: Mark Kettyle (Belfast Harlequins); Simon Danielli (Malone), Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins), Seamus Mallon (Ballymena), Paul McKenzie (Belfast Harlequins); David Humphreys (Dungannon), Kieran Campbell (Dungannon); Niall Conlon (Belfast Harlequins), Stuart Philpott (Belfast Harlequins), Declan Fitzpatrick (Dungannon), Filo Paulo (Malone), Tim Barker (Dungannon), Thomas Anderson (Dungannon), David Pollock (Dungannon), Chris Henry (Ballymena).

Replacements: Simon Shawe (Ballymena), Matt Miles (Ballynahinch), Willie Faloon (Ballynahinch), Mark Robinson (Queen’s University), Sam McDonald (Malone), Paul Marshall (Belfast Harlequins), Kieran Hallett (Malone), Ian Whitten (Queen’s University).

Referee: Ger English (Munster)