Jump to main content


Give It A Try 2019 In Action

Give It A Try 2019 In Action

Over 1700 girls are getting their first taste of rugby this summer through the 2019 Give It A Try initiative. The programme has grown from 39 clubs in 2018 to 67 clubs participating in 2019 – offering girls aged 10-14 the chance to have fun in a new sport.

The standardised programme is run by qualified coaches in each club. Each club also has a dedicated point of contact for parents to contact with any queries.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Many of the programmes culminate in regional blitzes while there is also a national Give It A Try festival taking place in Cill Dara RFC on July 6th.

Participants have the chance to make new friends in their community, while parents are also invited to create their own social network by staying around for a cup of tea or a walk during the session.

All participating coaches take part in an IRFU Give It A Try workshop within their province. These workshops ensure the focus for the programme is an enjoyable 8-week introduction to rugby in a fun, safe and engaging environment.

The classroom element of the workshops deals with the logistics and operations around a successful programme.

The practical element of the workshop helps to ensure best-practise in working with novice players and young people.

The above video provides a snapshot of what the workshops look like.

The following programmes are currently active, so it’s the ideal time to contact your local club to see what options are available for your family.

CONNACHT: Ballinrobe, Buccaneers, Castlebar, Corinthians, Corrib, Creggs, Galway Bay/NUIG, Galwegians, Gort, Loughrea, Oughterard, Westport.

LEINSTER: Arklow, Ashbourne, Athy, Balbriggan, Birr, Blackrock, Carlow, Clane, Clontarf, Coolmine, DeLaSalle Palmerstown (DLSP), Gorey, Lansdowne, Malahide, MU Barnhall, Mullingar, Naas, Navan, Newbridge, Newbridge (Kilcullen), North Kildare, Old Belvedere, Railway Union, Roscrea, Seapoint, Skerries, Tallaght, Terenure, Tullow, Wexford Wanderers, Wicklow.

MUNSTER: Ballincollig, Bantry Bay, Bruff, Carrick On Suir, Fethard, Highfield, Killarney, Kinsale, Mitchelstown, Nenagh, Richmond, Skibbereen, St. Senan’s, Tralee, Shannon, UL Bohemian.

ULSTER: Cooke, Ballymena, Larne, Lurgan, Newry, Portadown, Rainey Old Boys, Virginia.

Click here for contact details