Jump to main content

Menu

Summer 2021

Summer 2021

Summer 2021

What is Canterbury Give It A Try (GIAT)?

The Canterbury Give It A Try camps are an 8-week programme (end of July, Aug and Sept) run in selected clubs where girls aged 8-14 years can attend in order to learn how to play rugby in a fun environment.

The programme consists of a coach education element, fun rugby sessions, teaching the girls the basics of rugby. The clubs are responsible for the running of the programme in their area but with Provincial Branch and IRFU assistance.

For fun, friendship and a life’s worth of lessons, there’s #NothingLikeIt

Below you’ll find a list of participating clubs in each of the four provinces.

 

Club GIAT coordinator name email address Mobile Start date Session time
Carrick on Shannon Áine Spellman ainespellman@gmail.com  087 2544388 31st July 14.00 – 15.00
Castlebar Mairead Bradley castlebarwomensrugby@gmail.com 087 9282561 1st August 11.30 – 12.30
Claremorris Colts Damien Heffernan dahf@yahoo.com 085 1600272 1st August 12.00 – 13.00
Connemara Ian Shannahon sailorianwest@gmail.com 087 708 6500 29th July 18.30 – 19.45
Corrib Oonagh Ní Neachtaín oonagh23@gmail.com 087 2619683 25th July 19.00 – 20.00
Creggs Micheál Glennon Rookwoodglenn@yahoo.com 089 4508759 26th July 19.00 – 20.00
Galway Bay Christian Short c4srugby@gmail.com 083 0646145 26th July 19.00 – 20.00
Galway Corinthians Yvonne Comer ycomer@gmail.com 087 2237284 26th July 18.30 – 19.30
Galwegians Emma Howard emmaclaffey@gmail.com 087 3890830 26th July 18.00 – 19.00
Loughrea Eoghan Young Eoghan_Young@epam.com 087 2415739 29th July 19.00 – 20.00
Oughterard Norman Tierney Anpostnormant@gmail.com   087 6181292 28th July 18.30 – 19.30
Tuam Owen Lydon owen.lydon@hotmail.com 087 8136305 28th July 18.00 – 19.00
Club GIAT coordinator name email address Mobile Start date Session time
Ardee Ian Stewart ArdeeCCRO@leinsterrugby.ie 087 2530979 27th July 19.00 – 20.00
Arklow Danielle Kavanagh Dani29489@gmail.com 085 1155167 30th July 18.00 – 19.00
Ashbourne Kevin McCleery kevinmccleery92@gmail.com 087 7763494 28th July 19.00 – 20.00
Athy Ollie Henry dorathyrfc@gmail.com  086 8281093 27th July 19.00 – 20.00
Balbriggan Emma O’Kennedy emmaokennedy@gmail.com  086 3600303 29th July 19.00 – 20.00
Birr Frank Higgins ruth4frank@gmail.com  086 8606000 27th July 19.30 – 20.30
Blackrock College Christy Haney cph7014@gmail.com 083 839 9190 27th July 19.00 – 20.00
Boyne Paddy McCleery p.mccleery@yahoo.ie  087 9870200 28th July 19.00 – 20.00
Carlingford Knights Niall Kerley Carlingfordccro@leinsterrugby.ie  087 7403266 28th July 19.00 – 20.00
Clane Jim Kehoe gilltown@live.ie 086 023 2091 3rd August 19.00 – 20.00
Clondalkin Gareth Steed gareth.steed@ticomailworks.ie 087 2200085 1st August 10.30 – 11.30
Clontarf Philip Browne clontarfgirlsrugby@gmail.com 087 2536724 30th July 18.30 – 19.30
Co Carlow Brendan Carbery brendancarbery73@gmail.com 087 9210538 26th July 19.00 – 20.00
Coolmine Shauna Peters shaunagpeters@hotmail.com 086 0604059 26th July 19.00 – 20.00
Dundalk Eddie Conroy eddieconroy73@gmail.com 087 2353695 31st July 10.30 – 11.30
Edenderry Louise Moore moorel4@tcd.ie 087 7738999 26th July 19.00 – 20.00
Garda Westmanstown Karen Mooney gardarfcpro@gmail.com  086 3973668 29th July 19.00 – 20.00
Longford Lisa Brady lisabrady@hotmail.com 086 7340208 24th July 12.00 – 13.30
Mullingar Anthony Doolan giat.mrfc@gmail.com. 086 1954213 27th July 19.30 – 20.30
Navan John Molloy Johnmolloy172@gmail.com  086 8217149 26th July 19.00 – 20.00
New Ross Deborah McGrath deborah.mcgrath23@gmail.com 087 7659295 27th July 19.00 – 20.00
North Kildare John Crumpton john@crumpton.name 085 8720793 27th July 19.00 – 20.15
North Meath John Fitzgerald nmeathgiveitatry@gmail.com 086 2401620 29th July 19.00 – 20.10
Old Belvedere Niamh Lynch belvoyouthgirls@gmail.com 087 6725017 3rd August 18.30 – 19.30
Old Wesley* Andrew Egan girlsrugby@oldwesley.ie  087 9721450 1st Aug 12.00 – 13.00
Portarlington David Hainsworth chairman@portarlingtonrugby.com  086 2395614 30th July 19.00 – 20.00
Roscrea Ciara Maher ciaramaher@yahoo.ie 087 2024936 28th July 19.00 – 20.00
St Mary’s College Sarah Fallon girlsrugby@smcrfc.com 087 1245700 28th July 18.00 – 19.00
Suttonians Lynda Carroll Lyndacarroll2006@gmail.com 086 373 2833 28th July 18.30 – 19.30
Terenure College Eoin Kieran womensrugby@tcrfc.ie 087 9934396 2nd August 18.15 – 19.00
Tullow Ciara Kinch ciara_kinch@hotmail.com 086 1536101 29th July 19.00 – 20.00
Tullamore Ivor Scully directorofrugby@tullamorerugby.com 086 8762150 26th July 19.00 – 20.00
Wanderers Gerard O’Reilly WanderersCCRO@leinsterrugby.ie  087 7937918 31st July 12.00 – 13.00
Wexford Wanderers Anna Marie Russell annamarierussell@gmail.com 087 9054102 28th July 19.00 – 20.00
Club GIAT coordinator name email address Mobile Start date Session time
Ballina Killaloe Robert Alcock robert.alcock@intercomms.net 086 1083932 29th July 18.30 – 19.30
Ballincollig Odhran O’Keeffe odhran.okeeffe@live.ie 085 8030012 28th July 18.30 – 19.30
Bantry Bay Jennifer O’Connell colum_ciaraocon@hotmail.com 083 4552302 30th July 18.00 – 19.00
Bruff Heidi van Schayk womensrugby@bruffrfc.com  087 6679783 28th July 19.00 – 20.00
Carrick on Suir Kathleen Fleming Kathleen.fleming@icloud.com  087-2164025 27th July 18.00 – 19.00
Cobh Pirates Charlotte Skidmore c.skidmore017@gmail.com 087 6332345 29th July 17.45 – 18.45
Dolphin RFC Jane O’Leary womensrugby@dolphinrfc.com  087 6733067 26th July 18.30 – 19.30
Dungarvan Rachel O’Connell womensofficer@dungarvanrugby.ie  087 6259446 28th July 18.30 – 19.30
Dunmanway Jane Mc Sweeney Janeymc1981@gmail.com  086 2219835 27th July 19.30 – 20.30
Ennis Lorchan Hoyne lorchanhoyne@gmail.com 087 6492026 27th July 19.00 – 20.00
Fermoy Kevin Carbery kevincarbery@postmaster.co.uk 087 6351247 26th July 19.00 – 20.00
Fethard Polly Murphy fethardrfc@gmail.com 086 3394959 2nd August 18.45 – 19.45
Garryowen Donie McGrath mcgrathdonie@hotmail.com 087-2205010 27th July 19.00 – 20.00
Iveragh Eagles Ruth Brophy ruthwildebrophy@gmail.com 083 0595506 31st July 11.00 – 12.00
Killarney Fiona Landers fionamangan1@hotmail.com 087 2304689 31st July 14.00 – 15.00
Kilrush Andy Burke andyburke78@gmail.com  087 6330913 27th July 18.30 – 19.30
Lisdoonvarna Frankie Burke frankieburke1@gmail.com 085 1847198 27th July 17.45 – 19.00
Listowel Liz Horgan Lizhorgan41@gmail.com 087 2659036 31st July 10.30 – 11.30
Richmond Norma Waters norma_oconnor@hotmail.com  086 4045160 29th July 18.30 – 19.30
Scariff Christina McKenna Christinamadden8@icloud.com  085 8099626 28th July 19.30 – 20.30
Shannon Sinead Cunningham sineadcierans@gmail.com 086 6780000 27th July 19.00 – 20.00
Skibbereen PJ Dinan dinanpj@gmail.com 086 0787976 27th July 17.30 – 18.30
Thurles Sean Lanigan Ryan seanlryan@hotmail.com 086 8536221 30th July 18.00 – 19.15
Tralee Brian O’Dowd tiggertrfc@gmail.com 087 3530434 30th July 18.30 – 19.30
UL Bohemians Niamh Kavanagh Media@ulbohsrugby.com 086 1448909 4th August 19.30 – 20.30
Waterpark Pat Brennan patbrennan@gmail.com 086 810 6911 28th July 18.30 – 19.30
Youghal Maria Hooley mariajulie01@gmail.com 087 9775330 26th July 18.30 – 19.30
Club GIAT coordinator name email address Mobile Start date Session time
Ballynahinch Rebecca Irwin beck.irwin@btinternet.com 077 01329737 28th July 19.00 – 20.00
Ballymoney Katie Speers katiespeers@hotmail.com 077 36688399 26th July 18.45 – 20.00
Banbridge Caroline Meenan caroline.meenan@hotmail.co.uk 078 41109759 28th July 18.30 – 19.00
City of Armagh Sue Mercer suecmercer@yahoo.com 077 04515539 26th July 19.00 – 20.00
City of Derry Kelly Gormley kelly_horse@hotmail.com 077 46444036 28th July 18.00 – 19.00
Cooke (Belfast) Sorcha MacLaimhin Sorcha_maclaimhin@hotmail.com 075 41689870 26th July 18.00 – 19.00
Dungannon Cheryl Wilson mail@dungannonrugby.com  077 64576531 28th July 19.00 – 20.00
Inishowen Tara McCanalogue taramccon@yahoo.co.uk  086 8935048 4th August 18.30 – 19.30
Larne Judith Taylor judith834taylor@btinternet.com  077 86707803 27th July 18.30 – 19.30
Lurgan Gavin Warwick Gavin.warwick3@gmail.com  078 01641686 28th July 19.00 – 20.00
Monaghan Colm Finnegan colm.finnegan@irfu.ie  087 7692257 28th July 19.00 – 20.00
Newry Gerald Hadden NRFCYouth@outlook.com  079 33542980 1st August 10.30 – 11.30
Virginia Conor Walker rfcvirginia@gmail.com 086 8519345 26th July 19.30 – 20.30